Home » 1990 to 1999 New Moons » 1997 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

1997 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 1997 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1997 had an additional new moon over the usual pattern of other years.

What were the dates of the New Moons in 1997?

In 1997 there were 13 new moons. The dates and times of the new moons in 1997 were:

  1. January 8, 1997 at 11:26 PM ET (January 9, 1997 4:26 AM UTC)
  2. February 7, 1997 at 10:06 AM ET (3:06 PM UTC)
  3. March 8, 1997 at 8:14 PM ET (March 9, 1997 1:14 AM UTC)
  4. April 7, 1997 at 7:02 AM ET (12:02 PM UTC)
  5. May 6, 1997 at 4:46 PM ET (9:46 PM UTC)
  6. June 5, 1997 at 3:04 AM ET (8:04 AM UTC)
  7. July 4, 1997 at 2:40 PM ET (7:40 PM UTC)
  8. August 3, 1997 at 4:14 AM ET (9:14 AM UTC)
  9. September 1, 1997 at 7:52 PM ET (September 2, 1997 12:52 AM UTC)
  10. October 1, 1997 at 12:52 PM ET (5:52 PM UTC)
  11. October 31, 1997 at 5:01 AM ET (10:01 AM UTC)
  12. November 29, 1997 at 9:14 PM ET (November 30, 1997 2:14 AM UTC)
  13. December 29, 1997 at 11:57 AM ET (4:57 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1997 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Watercolor picture of moon for the 1997 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1997

For 1997, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early January setting up the year to have 13 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1997 New Moons:

January 8, 1997 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 1997 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Wednesday January 8, 1997 11:26 PM ET or January 9, 1997 4:26 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1996-1997 season as the December 1996 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 7, 1997 (New Snow Moon)

The February 1997 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Friday February 7, 1997 10:06 AM ET or 3:06 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1996-1997 season.

March 8, 1997 (New Worm Moon)

The March 1997 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Saturday March 8, 1997 8:24 PM ET or March 9, 1997 1:24 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1996-1997 season as it happened almost two weeks before the Spring Equinox 1997.

Also during the March New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 10 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Thursday March 20, 1997 9:55 AM ET or 2:55 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 7, 1997 (New Pink Moon)

The April 1997 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Monday April 7, 1997 7:02 AM ET or 12:02 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1997 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 6, 1997 (New Flower Moon)

The May 1997 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Tuesday May 6, 1997 4:46 PM ET or 9:46 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 1997 season.

June 5, 1997 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 1997 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Thursday June 5, 1997 3:04 AM ET or 8:04 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1997 season as it happened about about two weeks before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday June 21, 1997 4:20 AM ET or 9:20 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 4, 1997 (New Buck Moon)

The July 1997 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Friday July 4, 1997 2:40 PM ET or 7:40 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1997 season.

August 3, 1997 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1997 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Sunday August 3, 1997 4:14 AM ET or 9:14 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1997 season.

September 1, 1997 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1997 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Monday September 1, 1997 7:52 PM ET or September 2, 1997 12:52 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1997 season as it happened about three weeks before the Autumn Equinox.

Also during the October New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 13 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Monday September 22, 1997 7:56 PM ET or September 23, 1997 12:56 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1997 season.

October 1, 1997 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The first October 1997 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Wednesday October 1, 1997 12:52 PM ET or 5:52 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1997 season.

October 31, 1997 (New Beaver Moon)

The second October 1997 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Friday October 31, 1997 5:01 AM ET or 10:01 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1997 season.

November 29, 1997 (New Cold Moon)

The November 1997 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Saturday November 29, 1997 9:14 PM ET or November 30, 1997 2:14 AM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 1997 season.

December 29, 1997 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 1997 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Monday December 29, 1997 11:57 AM ET or 4:57 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 1997-1998 season as it occurred more than a week after the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday December 21, 1997 3:07 PM ET or 8:07 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1997-1998 season.

What are the names of 1997 new moons?

The names of the 1997 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October (second): New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

For most of 1997, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month, resulting in a match between the new and full moons in those months.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1997?

In 1997 October had a black moon as there were two new moons during the month, one definition of a black moon, for the Eastern and UTC time zones. Depending on other time zones, the black moon could shift between months.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year all months except October had one new moon, and each season had 3 new moons. February had both a new moon and full moon.

1997 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1997 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1997 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1997 9:55 AM ET2:55 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1997 4:20 AM ET9:20 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 1997 7:56 PM ETSeptember 23, 1997 12:56 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1997 3:07 PM ET8:07 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1997 was on Monday April 7, 1997 7:02 AM ET or 12:02 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1997 was on Friday July 4, 1997 2:40 PM ET or 7:40 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1997 was on Wednesday October 1, 1997 12:52 PM ET or 5:52 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1997 was on Monday December 29, 1997 11:57 AM ET or 4:57 PM UTC. It was the December 1997 new moon. The season’s second new moon was in January 1998. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 1997 Calendar