Home » 1990 to 1999 New Moons » 1996 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

1996 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 1996 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1996 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1996 New Moon Dates?

In 1996 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 1996 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 20, 1996 at 7:50 AM ET (12:50 PM UTC)
  2. February 18, 1996 at 6:30 PM ET (11:30 PM UTC)
  3. March 19, 1996 at 6:45 AM ET (11:45 AM UTC)
  4. April 17, 1996 at 6:49 PM ET (11:49 PM UTC)
  5. May 17, 1996 at 7:46 AM ET (12:46 PM UTC)
  6. June 15, 1996 at 9:36 PM ET (June 16, 1996 2:36 AM UTC)
  7. July 15, 1996 at 12:15 PM ET (5:15 PM UTC)
  8. August 14, 1996 at 3:34 AM ET (8:34 AM UTC)
  9. September 12, 1996 at 7:07 PM ET (September 13, 1996 12:07 AM UTC)
  10. October 12, 1996 at 10:14 AM ET (3:14 PM UTC)
  11. November 10, 1996 at 11:16 PM ET (November 11, 1996 4:16 AM UTC)
  12. December 10, 1996 at 11:56 AM ET (4:56 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1996 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Watercolor picture of moon for the 1996 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1996

For 1996, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in late January setting up the year to have 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1996 New Moons:

January 20, 1996 (New Snow Moon)

The January 1996 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Saturday January 20, 1996 7:50 AM ET or 12:50 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1995-1996 season, as the December 1995 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 18, 1996 (New Worm Moon)

The February 1996 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Sunday February 18, 1996 6:30 PM ET or 11:30 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1995-1996 season.

March 19, 1996 (New Pink Moon)

The March 1996 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Tuesday March 19, 1996 6:45 AM ET or 11:45 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1995-1996 season as it happened a day before the Spring Equinox 1996.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Wednesday March 20, 1996 4:03 AM ET or 9:03 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 17, 1996 (New Flower Moon)

The April 1996 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Wednesday April 17, 1996 6:49 PM ET or 11:49 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1996 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

Also during the April New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 12 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

May 17, 1996 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 1996 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Friday May 17, 1996 7:46 AM ET or 12:46 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 1996 season.

June 15, 1996  (New Blue Moon)

The June 1996 New Moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Saturday June 15, 1996 9:36 PM ET or June 16, 1996 2:36 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1996 season as it happened less than a week before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday June 20, 1996 10:24 PM ET or June 21, 1996 3:24 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 15, 1996 (New Buck Moon)

The July 1996 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Monday July 15, 1996 12:15 PM ET or 5:15 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1996 season.

August 14, 1996 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1996 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Wednesday August 14, 1996 3:34 AM ET or 8:34 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1996 season.

September 12, 1996 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1996 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Thursday September 12, 1996 7:07 PM ET or September 13, 1996 12:07 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1996 season as it happened more than a week before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Sunday September 22, 1996 2:00 PM ET or 7:00 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1996 season.

October 12, 1996 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1996 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Saturday October 12, 1996 10:14 AM ET or 3:14 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1996 season.

Also during the October New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 11 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

November 10, 1996 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 1996 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Sunday November 10, 1996 11:16 PM ET or November 11, 1996 4:16 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1996 season.

December 10, 1996 (New Cold Moon)

The December 1996 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Tuesday December 10, 1996 11:56 AM ET or 4:56 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1996 season as it occurred more than a week before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday December 21, 1996 9:06 AM ET or 2:06 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1996-1997 season.

What are the names of 1996 new moons?

The names of the 1996 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Blue Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

For the first half of 1996, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The June new moon was called a New Blue Moon because June 1996 had a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1996?

No, 1996 did not have a black moon that year. There are multiple definitions of a black moon, and none happened in 1996. During the year all months had one new moon, and each season had 3 new moons. February had both a new moon and a full moon.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

1996 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1996 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox/SolsticeMonth1996 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1996 4:03 AM ET9:03 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 20, 1996 10:24 PM ETJune 21, 1996 3:24 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 1996 2:00 PM ET7:00 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1996 9:06 AM ET2:06 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1996 was on Wednesday April 17, 1996 6:49 PM ET or 11:49 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1996 was on Monday July 15, 1996 12:15 PM ET or 5:15 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1996 was on Saturday October 12, 1996 10:14 AM ET or 3:14 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1996 was on Wednesday January 8, 1997 11:26 PM ET or January 9, 1997 4:26 AM UTC. It was the January 1997 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 1996 Calendar