Home » 1990 to 1999 New Moons » 1995 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

1995 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 1995 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates. This was one of the more interesting new moon years as it also included multiple types of black moons.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1995 had an additional new moon that year, not following the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1995 New Moon Dates?

In 1995 there were 13 new moons. The dates and times of the new moons in 1995 were:

  1. January 1, 1995 5:56 AM ET
  2. January 30, 1995 5:48 PM ET
  3. March 1, 1995 6:48 AM ET
  4. March 30, 1995 10:08 PM ET
  5. April 29, 1995 1:36 PM ET
  6. May 29, 1995 5:27 AM ET
  7. June 27, 1995 8:50 PM ET
  8. July 27, 1995 11:13 AM ET
  9. August 26, 1995 12:31 AM ET
  10. September 24, 1995 12:55 PM ET
  11. October 24, 1995 12:36 AM ET
  12. November 22, 1995 10:43 AM ET
  13. December 21, 1995 9:22 PM ET

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1995 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Watercolor picture of moon for the 1995 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1995

For 1995, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon at the beginning of January setting up the year to have the 13 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1995 New Moons:

January 1, 1995 (New Wolf Moon)

The first January 1995 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Sunday January 1, 1995 5:56 AM ET or 10:56 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1994-1995 season as the December 1994 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

January 30, 1995 (New Snow Moon)

The second January 1995 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Monday January 30, 1995 5:48 PM ET or 10:48 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 1994-1995.

March 1, 1995 (New Worm Moon)

The first March 1995 new moon, also called the New Work Moon, was on Wednesday March 1, 1995 6:48 AM ET or 11:48 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1994-1995 season as it happened a few weeks before the Spring Equinox 1995.

March 30, 1995 (New Pink Moon)

The second March 1995 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Thursday March 30, 1995 10:08 PM ET or March 31, 1995 3:08 AM. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1995 season happened more than a week after Spring Equinox 1995.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Monday March 20, 1995 10:15 PM ET or March 21, 1995 3:15 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 29, 1995 (New Flower Moon)

The April 1995 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Saturday April 29, 1995 1:36 PM ET or 6:36 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 1995 season.

Also during the April New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

May 29, 1995 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 1995 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Monday May 29, 1995 5:27 AM ET or 10:27 AM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1995 season.

June 27, 1995  (New Buck Moon)

The June 1995 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Tuesday June 27, 1995 8:50 PM ET or June 28, 1995 1:50 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1995 season as it happened a few days after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Wednesday June 21, 1995 4:35 PM ET or 9:35 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 27, 1995 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 1995 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday July 27, 1995 11:13 AM ET or 4:13 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1995 season.

August 26, 1995 (New Harvest Moon)

The August 1995 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Saturday August 26, 1995 12:31 AM ET or 5:31 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1995 season.

September 24, 1995 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The September 1995 new moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was Sunday September 24, 1995 12:55 PM ET or 5:55 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Autumn 1995 season as it happened a day after the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Saturday September 23, 1995 8:13 AM ET or 1:13 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 4 new moons during the Autumn 1995 season.

October 24, 1995 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 1995 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Tuesday October 24, 1995 12:36 AM ET or 5:36 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1995 season.

Also during the October New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 3 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

November 22, 1995 (New Cold Moon)

The November 1995 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Wednesday November 22, 1995 10:43 AM ET or 3:43 PM UTC. It was the third new moon of the Autumn 1995 season. It was also considered a seasonal black moon because the season had four new moons that year.

December 21, 1995 (New Cold Moon)

The December 1995 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Thursday December 21, 1995 9:22 PM ET or December 22, 1995 2:22 AM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1995 season as it occurred about a day before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Friday December 22, 1995 3:17 AM ET or 8:17 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1995-1996 season.

What are the names of 1995 new moons?

The names of the 1995 new moons are as follows:

  1. January: New Wolf Moon
  2. January (Second): New Snow Moon
  3. March: New Worm Moon
  4. March (Second): New Pink Moon
  5. April: New Flower Moon
  6. May: New Strawberry Moon
  7. June: New Buck Moon
  8. July: New Sturgeon Moon
  9. August: New Harvest Moon
  10. September: New Hunter’s Moon
  11. October: New Beaver Moon
  12. November: New Cold Moon
  13. December: New Wolf Moon

For most of 1995, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The August new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1995?

1995 had three types of black moons occur in the same year. January and March had 2 new moons each. February didn’t have a new moon, only a full moon. Autumn 1995 had 4 new moons, making the November New Moon a seasonal black moon.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year, but 1995 came close with three of the four happening.

  • A month without a new moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month without a new moon or only with a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

1995 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1995 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1995 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1995 10:15 PM ETMarch 21, 1995 3:15 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1995 4:35 PM ET9:35 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 1995 8:13 AM ET1:13 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 22, 1995 3:17 AM ET8:17 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1995 was on Thursday March 30, 1995 10:08 PM ET or March 31, 1995 3:08 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1995 was on Tuesday June 27, 1995 8:50 PM ET or June 28, 1995 1:50 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1995 was on Sunday September 24, 1995 12:55 PM ET or 5:55 PM UTC. The autumn season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1995 was on Saturday January 20, 1996 7:50 AM ET or 12:50 PM UTC. It was the January 1996 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 1995 Calendar