Home » 1990 to 1999 New Moons » 1992 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

1992 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 1992 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1992 had an additional new moon compared to the usual pattern of other years.

What were the dates of the new moons in 1992?

In 1992 there were 13 new moons. The dates and names of the new moons in 1992 were:

  • January 4, 1992: New Wolf Moon
  • February 3, 1992: New Snow Moon
  • March 4, 1992: New Worm Moon
  • April 3, 1992: New Pink Moon
  • May 2, 1992: New Flower Moon
  • May 31, 1992: New Strawberry Moon
  • June 30, 1992: New Buck Moon
  • July 29, 1992: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August 27, 1992: New Harvest Moon
  • September 26, 1992: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October 25, 1992: New Beaver Moon
  • November 24, 1992: New Cold Moon
  • December 23, 1992: New Wolf Moon

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1992 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Watercolor picture of the moon for the 1992 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1992

For 1992, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early January setting up the year to have 13 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1992 New Moons:

January 4, 1992 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 1992 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Saturday January 4, 1992 6:09 PM ET or 11:09 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1991-1992 season as the December 1991 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

Also during the January New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

February 3, 1992 (New Snow Moon)

The February 1992 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Monday February 3, 1992 2:00 PM ET or 7:00 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1991-1992 season.

March 4, 1992 (New Worm Moon)

The March 1992 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Wednesday March 4, 1992 8:22 AM ET or 1:22 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1991-1992 season as it happened more than 2 weeks before the Spring Equinox 1992.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Friday March 20, 1992 4:48 AM ET or 9:48 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 3, 1992 (New Pink Moon)

The April 1992 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Friday April 3, 1992 1:02 AM ET or 6:02 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1992 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 2, 1992 (New Flower Moon)

The first May 1992 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Saturday May 2, 1992 1:44 PM ET or 6:44 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 1992 season.

May 31, 1992 (New Strawberry Moon)

The second May 1992 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Sunday May 31, 1992 11:57 PM ET or June 1, 1992 4:57 AM UTC. In the UTC time zone, the new moon occurred the early hours of June. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1992 season.

June 30, 1992  (New Buck Moon)

The June 1992 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Tuesday June 30, 1992 8:18 AM ET or 1:18 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1992 season as it happened more than a week after the Summer Solstice.

Also during the June New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 6 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday June 20, 1992 11:14 PM ET or June 21, 1992 4:14 AM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 29, 1992 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 1992 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Wednesday July 29, 1992 3:35 PM ET or 8:35 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1992 season.

August 27, 1992 (New Harvest Moon)

The August 1992 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Thursday August 27, 1992 10:42 PM ET or August 28, 1992 3:42 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1992 season.

September 26, 1992 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The September 1992 new moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was Saturday September 26, 1992 6:40 AM ET or 11:40 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Autumn 1992 season as it happened a few days after the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Tuesday September 22, 1992 2:43 PM ET or 7:43 PM UTC, before the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1992 season.

October 25, 1992 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 1992 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Sunday October 25, 1992 3:34 PM ET or 8:34 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1992 season.

November 24, 1992 (New Cold Moon)

The November 1992 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Tuesday November 24, 1992 4:11 AM ET or 9:11 AM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 1992 season.

December 23, 1992 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 1992 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Wednesday December 23, 1992 7:43 PM ET or December 24, 1992 12:43 AM. It was the first new moon of the Winter 1992-1993 season as it occurred a couple of days after the Winter Solstice.

Also during the December New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 9 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

While in the Eastern timezone the December New Moon just missed being a Christmas Eve New Moon, in other time zones it was.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Monday December 21, 1992 9:43 AM ET or 2:43 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1992-1993 season.

What are the names of 1992 new moons?

The names of the 1992 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • May (Second New Moon): New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Harvest Moon
  • September: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Moon – New Wolf Moon

For almost the first half of the year, the new moon occurred in the same moon as its full moon, creating a name match. Because May had two new moons, the second half of the year had the new moons in the month prior to the corresponding full moon.

The August new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1992?

A black moon occurs when a month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 1992 each month had at least 1 new moon so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition. May 1992 had two new moons that year.

A seasonal black moon occurs when a season has 4 new moons, making the third new moon the black moon. Each season during 1992 had 3 new moons, meaning there wasn’t a seasonal new moon either.

1992 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1992 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1992 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1992 4:48 AM ET9:48 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 20, 1992 11:14 PM ETJune 21, 1992 4:14 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 1992 2:43 PM ET7:43 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1992 9:43 AM ET2:43 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1992 was on Friday April 3, 1992 1:02 AM ET or 6:02 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1992 was on Tuesday June 30, 1992 8:18 AM ET or 1:18 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1992 was on Saturday September 26, 1992 6:40 AM ET or 11:40 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1992 was on Wednesday December 23, 1992 7:43 PM ET or December 24, 1992 12:43 AM. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 1992 Calendar