Home » 1990 to 1999 New Moons » 1990 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

1990 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 1990 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1990 followed the usual pattern of other years.

Watercolor picture of moon for the 1990 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

What were the dates of the New Moons in 1990?

In 1990 there were 12 new moons. The dates and times of the new moons in 1990 were:

  1. January 26, 1990 at 2:20 PM ET (7:20 PM UTC)
  2. February 25, 1990 at 3:54 AM ET (8:54 AM UTC)
  3. March 26, 1990 at 3:48 PM ET (8:48 PM UTC)
  4. April 25, 1990 at 12:27 AM ET (5:27 AM UTC)
  5. May 24, 1990 at 7:47 AM ET (12:47 PM UTC)
  6. June 22, 1990 at 2:55 PM ET (7:55 PM UTC)
  7. July 21, 1990 at 10:54 PM ET (July 22, 1990 3:54 AM UTC)
  8. August 20, 1990 at 8:39 AM ET (1:39 PM UTC)
  9. September 18, 1990 at 8:46 PM ET (September 19, 1990 1:46 AM UTC)
  10. October 18, 1990 at 11:37 AM ET (4:37 PM UTC)
  11. November 17, 1990 at 4:04 AM ET (9:04 AM UTC)
  12. December 16, 1990 at 11:22 PM ET (December 17, 1990 4:22 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1990 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

New Moon Calendar 1990

For 1990, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in late January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1990 New Moons:

January 26, 1990 (New Snow Moon)

The January 1990 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Friday January 26, 1990 2:20 PM ET or 7:20 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 1989-1990 season as the December 1989 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

Also during the January New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 11 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

February 25, 1990 (New Worm Moon)

The February 1990 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Sunday February 25, 1990 3:54 AM ET or 8:54 AM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1989-1990 season.

March 26, 1990 (New Pink Moon)

The March 1990 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Monday March 26, 1990 3:48 PM ET or 8:48 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1990 season as it happened about a week after the Spring Equinox 1990.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Tuesday March 20, 1990 5:19 PM ET or 10:19 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 25, 1990 (New Flower Moon)

The April 1990 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Wednesday April 25, 1990 12:27 AM ET or 5:27 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 1990 season.

May 24, 1990 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 1990 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Thursday May 24, 1990 7:47 AM ET or 12:47 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1990 season.

June 22, 1990  (New Buck Moon)

The June 1990 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Friday June 22, 1990 2:55 PM ET or 7:55 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1990 season as it happened about a day after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday June 21, 1990 11:33 AM ET or 4:33 PM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 4 new moons.

July 21, 1990 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 1990 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Saturday July 21, 1990 10:54 PM ET or July 22, 1990 3:54 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1990 season.

Also during the July New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 8 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

August 20, 1990 (New Corn Moon)

The August 1990 new moon, also called the New Corn Moon, was on Monday August 20, 1990 8:39 AM ET or 1:39 PM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Summer 1990 season. It was also considered a seasonal black moon because it was the third new moon in a season with four.

September 18, 1990 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1990 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Tuesday September 18, 1990 8:46 PM ET or September 19, 1990 1:46 AM UTC. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Summer 1990 season as it happened about a week before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Sunday September 23, 1990 2:56 AM ET or 7:56 AM AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1990 season.

October 18, 1990 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 1990 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Thursday October 18, 1990 11:37 AM ET or 4:37 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1990 season.

November 17, 1990 (New Cold Moon)

The November 1990 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Saturday November 17, 1990 4:04 AM ET or 9:04 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1990 season.

December 16, 1990 (New Blue Moon)

The December 1990 New Moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Sunday December 16, 1990 11:22 PM ET or December 17, 1990. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1990 season as it occurred before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Friday December 21, 1990 10:07 PM ET or December 22, 1990 3:07 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1990-1991 season.

What are the names of 1990 new moons?

The names of the 1990 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Corn Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Blue moon

For all of 1990, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The December new moon was called a New Blue Moon because December 1990 had a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the October Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1990?

A black moon occurs when a month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 1990 each month had at least 1 new moon, so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition.

A seasonal black moon occurs when a season has 4 new moons, making the third new moon the black moon. The Summer 1990 season had 4 new moons, meaning it had a seasonal black moon in August.

1990 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1990 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1990 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1990 5:19 PM ET10:19 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1990 11:33 AM ET4:33 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 1990 2:56 AM ET7:56 AM AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1990 10:07 PM ETDecember 22, 1990 3:07 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1990 was on Monday March 26, 1990 3:48 PM ET or 8:48 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1990 was on Friday June 22, 1990 2:55 PM ET or 7:55 PM UTC. The summer season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1990 was on Thursday October 18, 1990 11:37 AM ET or 4:37 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1990 was on Tuesday January 15, 1991 6:50 PM ET or 11:50 PM UTC. It was the January 1991 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 1990 Calendar