Home » 1980 to 1989 New Moons » 1989 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

1989 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 1989 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1989 had an additional new moon over the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1989 New Moon Dates?

In 1989 there were 13 new moons. The dates of the new moons in 1989 were:

  1. January 7, 1989 2:22 PM ET (7:22 PM UTC)
  2. February 6, 1989 2:37 AM ET (7:37 AM UTC)
  3. March 7, 1989 1:19 PM ET (6:19 PM UTC)
  4. April 5, 1989 11:33 PM ET (April 6, 1989 4:33 AM UTC)
  5. May 5, 1989 7:46 AM ET (12:46 PM UTC)
  6. June 3, 1989 3:53 PM ET (8:53 PM UTC)
  7. July 3, 1989 12:59 AM ET (5:59 AM UTC)
  8. August 1, 1989 12:06 PM ET (5:06 PM UTC)
  9. August 31, 1989 1:44 AM ET (6:44 AM UTC)
  10. September 29, 1989 5:47 PM ET (10:47 PM UTC)
  11. October 29, 1989 10:27 AM ET (3:27 PM UTC)
  12. November 28, 1989 4:41 AM ET (9:41 AM UTC)
  13. December 27, 1989 10:20 PM ET (December 28, 1989 3:20 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1989 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark illustration of the new moon for the dates of the new moons in 1989

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1989

For 1989, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early January, setting up the year to have 13 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1989 New Moons:

January 7, 1989 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 1989 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Saturday January 7, 1989 2:22 PM ET or 7:22 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1988-1989 season as the December 1988 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 6, 1989 (New Snow Moon)

The February 1989 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Monday February 6, 1989 2:37 AM ET or 7:37 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1988-1989 season.

March 7, 1989 (New Worm Moon)

The March 1989 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Tuesday March 7, 1989 1:19 PM ET or 6:19 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1988-1989 season as it happened about two weeks before the Spring Equinox 1989.

Also during the March New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 10 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Monday March 20, 1989 11:29 AM ET or 4:29 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 5, 1989 (New Pink Moon)

The April 1989 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Wednesday April 5, 1989 11:33 PM ET or April 6, 1989 4:33 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1989 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 5, 1989 (New Flower Moon)

The May 1989 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Friday May 5, 1989 7:46 AM ET or 12:46 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 1989 season.

June 3, 1989 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 1989 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Saturday June 3, 1989 3:53 PM ET or 8:53 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1989 season as it happened more than two weeks before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Wednesday June 21, 1989 5:53 AM ET or 10:53 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 3, 1989 (New Buck Moon)

The July 1989 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Monday July 3, 1989 12:59 AM ET or 5:59 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1989 season.

August 1, 1989 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The first August 1989 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Tuesday August 1, 1989 12:06 PM ET or 5:06 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1989 season.

August 31, 1989 (New Harvest Moon)

The second August 1989 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Thursday August 31, 1989 1:44 AM ET or 6:44 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1989 season.

Also during the second August New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 12 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

September 29, 1989 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The September 1989 new moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was Friday September 29, 1989 5:47 PM ET or 10:47 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Autumn 1989 season as it happened almost a week after the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Friday September 22, 1989 9:20 PM ET or September 23, 1989 2:20 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1989 season.

October 29, 1989 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 1989 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Sunday October 29, 1989 10:27 AM ET or 3:27 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1989 season.

November 28, 1989 (New Cold Moon)

The November 1989 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Tuesday November 28, 1989 4:41 AM ET or 9:41 AM UTC. It was the third new moon of the Autumn 1989 season.

December 27, 1989 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 1989 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Wednesday December 27, 1989 10:20 PM ET or December 28, 1989 3:20 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 1989-1990 season as it occurred almost a week after the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday December 21, 1989 4:22 PM ET or 9:22 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1989-1990 season.

What are the names of 1989 new moons?

The names of the 1989 new moons are as follows:

  1. January: New Wolf Moon
  2. February: New Snow Moon
  3. March: New Worm Moon
  4. April: New Pink Moon
  5. May: New Flower Moon
  6. June: New Strawberry Moon
  7. July: New Buck Moon
  8. August: New Sturgeon Moon
  9. August (second): New Harvest Moon
  10. September: New Hunter’s Moon
  11. October: New Beaver Moon
  12. November: New Cold Moon
  13. December: New Wolf Moon

For the first half of 1989, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month, resulting in the names matching.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1989?

In 1989 August had a black moon because it had 2 new moons.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year each season had 3 new moons and February had both a new and full moon. August had two new moons, with the late August being considered a black moon.

1989 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1989 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1989 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1989 11:29 AM ET4:29 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1989 5:53 AM ET10:53 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 1989 9:20 PM ETSeptember 23, 1989 2:20 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1989 4:22 PM ET9:22 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1989 was on Wednesday April 5, 1989 11:33 PM ET or April 6, 1989 4:33 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1989 was on Monday July 3, 1989 12:59 AM ET or 5:59 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1989 was on Friday September 29, 1989 5:47 PM ET or 10:47 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1989 was on Wednesday December 27, 1989 10:20 PM ET or December 28, 1989 3:20 AM UTC. It was the December 1989 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons with the second in January 1990.

1989 Solar Eclipses

During 1989 two solar eclipses coincided with the new moons in March and August.

There was a Partial Solar Eclipse as part of the March New Moon, with the eclipse happening 10 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

There was also a Partial Solar Eclipse during the August New Moon, with the eclipse happening 12 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

1990 New Moons
New Moons 1989 Calendar