Home » 1980 to 1989 New Moons » 1988 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

1988 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 1988 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1988 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1988 New Moon Dates?

In 1988 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 1988 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 19, 1988 12:25 AM ET (5:25 AM UTC)
  2. February 17, 1988 10:54 AM ET (3:54 PM UTC)
  3. March 17, 1988 10:02 PM ET (March 18, 1988 3:02 AM UTC)
  4. April 16, 1988 8:00 AM ET (1:00 PM UTC)
  5. May 15, 1988 6:10 PM ET (11:10 PM UTC)
  6. June 14, 1988 5:14 AM ET (10:14 AM UTC)
  7. July 13, 1988 5:53 PM ET (10:53 PM UTC)
  8. August 12, 1988 8:31 AM ET (1:31 PM UTC)
  9. September 11, 1988 12:49 AM ET (5:49 AM UTC)
  10. October 10, 1988 5:49 PM ET (10:49 PM UTC)
  11. November 9, 1988 9:20 AM ET (2:20 PM UTC)
  12. December 9, 1988 12:36 AM ET (5:36 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1988 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark illustration of the new moon for the dates of the new moons in 1988

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1988

For 1988, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in mid-January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1988 New Moons:

January 19, 1988 (New Snow Moon)

The January 1988 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Tuesday January 19, 1988 12:25 AM ET or 5:25 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1987-1988 season as the December 1987 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 17, 1988 (New Worm Moon)

The February 1988 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Wednesday February 17, 1988 10:54 AM ET or 3:54 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1987-1988 season.

March 17, 1988 (New Pink Moon)

The March 1988 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Thursday March 17, 1988 10:02 PM ET or March 18, 1988 3:02 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1987-1988 season as it happened a few days before the Spring Equinox 1988.

Also during the March New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 3 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Sunday March 20, 1988 5:39 AM ET or 10:39 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 16, 1988 (New Flower Moon)

The April 1988 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Saturday April 16, 1988 8:00 AM ET or 1:00 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1988 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 15, 1988 (New Blue Moon)

The May 1988 New Moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Sunday May 15, 1988 6:10 PM ET or 11:10 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 1988 season.

June 14, 1988 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 1988 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Tuesday June 14, 1988 5:14 AM ET or 10:14 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1988 season as it happened about a week before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Monday June 20, 1988 11:56 PM ET or June 21, 1988 4:56 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 13, 1988 (New Buck Moon)

The July 1988 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Wednesday July 13, 1988 5:53 PM ET or 10:53 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1988 season.

August 12, 1988 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1988 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Friday August 12, 1988 8:31 AM ET or 1:31 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1988 season.

September 11, 1988 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1988 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Sunday September 11, 1988 12:49 AM ET or 5:49 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1988 season as it happened more than a week before the Autumn Equinox.

Also during the September New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Thursday September 22, 1988 3:29 PM ET or 8:29 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1988 season.

October 10, 1988 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1988 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Monday October 10, 1988 5:49 PM ET or 10:49 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1988 season.

November 9, 1988 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 1988 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Wednesday November 9, 1988 9:20 AM ET or 2:20 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1988 season.

December 9, 1988 (New Cold Moon)

The December 1988 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Friday December 9, 1988 12:36 AM ET or 5:36 AM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1988 season as it occurred almost two weeks before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Wednesday December 21, 1988 10:28 AM ET or 3:28 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1988-1989 season.

What are the names of 1988 new moons?

The names of the 1988 new moons are as follows:

  1. January: New Snow Moon
  2. February: New Worm Moon
  3. March: New Pink Moon
  4. April: New Flower Moon
  5. May: New Blue Moon
  6. June: New Strawberry Moon
  7. July: New Buck Moon
  8. August: New Sturgeon Moon
  9. September: New Harvest Moon
  10. October: New Hunter’s Moon
  11. November: New Beaver Moon
  12. December: New Cold Moon

For the first half of 1988, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The May new moon was called a New Blue Moon because May 1988 had a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1988?

No, 1988 was one of the few years that didn’t have a black moon by any of the definitions.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year all months had one new moon and each season had 3 new moons. February had both a new and full moon in 1988.

1988 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1988 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1988 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1988 5:39 AM ET10:39 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 20, 1988 11:56 PM ETJune 21, 1988 4:56 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 1988 3:29 PM ET8:29 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1988 10:28 AM ET3:28 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1988 was on Saturday April 16, 1988 8:00 AM ET or 1:00 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1988 was on Wednesday July 13, 1988 5:53 PM ET or 10:53 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1988 was on Monday October 10, 1988 5:49 PM ET or 10:49 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1988 was on Saturday January 7, 1989 2:22 PM ET or 7:22 PM UTC. It was the January 1989 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

1988 Solar Eclipses

During 1988 two solar eclipses coincided with the new moons in March and September.

There was a Total Solar Eclipse as part of the March New Moon, with the eclipse happening 3 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

There was also an Annular Solar Eclipse during the September New Moon with the eclipse happening 4 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

New Moons 1988 Calendar