Home » 1980 to 1989 New Moons » 1987 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

1987 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 1987 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1987 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1987 New Moon Dates?

In 1987 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 1987 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 29, 1987 8:44 AM ET (1:44 PM UTC)
  2. February 27, 1987 7:51 PM ET (February 28, 1987 12:51 AM UTC)
  3. March 29, 1987 8:46 AM ET (1:46 PM UTC)
  4. April 27, 1987 9:34 PM ET (April 28, 1987 2:34 AM UTC)
  5. May 27, 1987 11:13 AM ET (4:13 PM UTC)
  6. June 26, 1987 1:37 AM ET (6:37 AM UTC)
  7. July 25, 1987 4:38 PM ET (9:38 PM UTC)
  8. August 24, 1987 7:59 AM ET (12:59 PM UTC)
  9. September 22, 1987 11:08 PM ET (September 23, 1987 4:08 AM UTC)
  10. October 22, 1987 1:28 PM ET (6:28 PM UTC)
  11. November 21, 1987 1:33 AM ET (6:33 AM UTC)
  12. December 20, 1987 1:25 PM ET (6:25 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1987 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark illustration of the new moon for the dates of the new moons in 1987

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1987

For 1987, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in late January setting up the year to have 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1987 New Moons:

January 29, 1987 (New Snow Moon)

The January 1987 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Thursday January 29, 1987 8:44 AM ET or 1:44 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 1986-1987 season as the December 1986 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

February 27, 1987 (New Worm Moon)

The February 1987 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Friday February 27, 1987 7:51 PM ET or February 28, 1987 12:51 AM UTC. It was the third new moon of the Winter 1986-1987 season.

March 29, 1987 (New Pink Moon)

The March 1987 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Sunday March 29, 1987 8:46 AM ET or 1:46 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1987 season as it happened more than a week after the Spring Equinox 1987.

Also during the March New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 3 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Friday March 20, 1987 11:52 PM ET or March 21, 1987 4:52 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 27, 1987 (New Flower Moon)

The April 1987 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Monday April 27, 1987 9:34 PM ET or April 28, 1987 2:34 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 1987 season.

May 27, 1987 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 1987 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Wednesday May 27, 1987 11:13 AM ET or 4:13 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1987 season.

June 26, 1987 (New Buck Moon)

The June 1987 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Friday June 26, 1987 1:37 AM ET or 6:37 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1987 season as it happened almost a week after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday June 21, 1987 6:11 PM ET or 11:11 PM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 4 new moons.

July 25, 1987 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 1987 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Saturday July 25, 1987 4:38 PM ET or 9:38 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1987 season.

August 24, 1987 (New Corn Moon)

The August 1987 new moon, also called the New Corn Moon, was on Monday August 24, 1987 7:59 AM ET or 12:59 PM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Summer 1987 season. It was also a seasonal black moon as the season had 4 new moons that year.

September 22, 1987 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1987 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Tuesday September 22, 1987 11:08 PM ET or September 23, 1987 4:08 AM UTC. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Summer 1987 season as it happened about a day before the Autumn Equinox.

Also during the September New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 5 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Wednesday September 23, 1987 9:45 AM ET or 2:45 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1987 season.

October 22, 1987 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 1987 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Thursday October 22, 1987 1:28 PM ET or 6:28 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1987 season.

November 21, 1987 (New Cold Moon)

The November 1987 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Saturday November 21, 1987 1:33 AM ET or 6:33 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1987 season.

December 20, 1987 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 1987 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Sunday December 20, 1987 1:25 PM ET or 6:25 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1987 season as it occurred a couple of days before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Tuesday December 22, 1987 4:46 AM ET or 9:46 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1987-1988 season.

What are the names of 1987 new moons?

The names of the 1987 new moons are as follows:

  1. January: New Snow Moon
  2. February: New Worm Moon
  3. March: New Pink Moon
  4. April: New Flower Moon
  5. May: New Strawberry Moon
  6. June: New Buck Moon
  7. July: New Sturgeon Moon
  8. August: New Corn Moon
  9. September: New Harvest Moon
  10. October: New Beaver Moon
  11. November: New Cold Moon
  12. December: New Wolf Moon

For most of 1987, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the October Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1987?

In 1987 August had a seasonal black moon because the summer season had 4 new moons that year.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year all months had one new moon, and February had both a new and full moon. The Summer season had 4 new moons, and the others had 3.

1987 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1987 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1987 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1987 11:52 PM ETMarch 21, 1987 4:52 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1987 6:11 PM ET11:11 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 1987 9:45 AM ET2:45 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 22, 1987 4:46 AM ET9:46 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1987 was on Sunday March 29, 1987 8:46 AM ET or 1:46 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1987 was on Friday June 26, 1987 1:37 AM ET or 6:37 AM UTC. The summer season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1987 was on Thursday October 22, 1987 1:28 PM ET or 6:28 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1987 was on Tuesday January 19, 1988 12:25 AM ET or 5:25 AM UTC. It was the January 1988 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

1987 Solar Eclipses

During 1987 two solar eclipses coincided with the new moons in March and September.

There was an Annular Solar Eclipse as part of the March New Moon, with the eclipse happening 3 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

There was also an Annular Solar Eclipse during the September New Moon, with the eclipse happening 6 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

New Moons 1987 Calendar