Home » 1980 to 1989 New Moons » 1986 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

1986 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 1986 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1986 had an additional new moon over the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1986 New Moon Dates?

In 1986 there were 13 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 1986 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 10, 1986 7:22 AM ET (12:22 PM UTC)
  • February 8, 1986 7:55 PM ET (February 9, 1986 12:55 AM UTC)
  • March 10, 1986 10:52 AM ET (3:52 PM UTC)
  • April 9, 1986 2:08 AM ET (7:08 AM UTC)
  • May 8, 1986 6:10 PM ET (11:10 PM UTC)
  • June 7, 1986 10:01 AM ET (3:01 PM UTC)
  • July 7, 1986 12:55 AM ET (5:55 AM UTC)
  • August 5, 1986 2:36 PM ET (7:36 PM UTC)
  • September 4, 1986 3:10 AM ET (8:10 AM UTC)
  • October 3, 1986 2:55 PM ET (7:55 PM UTC)
  • November 2, 1986 1:02 AM ET (6:02 AM UTC)
  • December 1, 1986 11:43 AM ET (4:43 PM UTC)
  • December 30, 1986 22:10 PM ET (December 31, 1986 3:10 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1986 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark illustration of the new moon for the dates of the new moons in 1986

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1986

For 1986, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in mid-January setting up the year to have the 13 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1986 New Moons:

January 10, 1986 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 1986 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Friday January 10, 1986 7:22 AM ET or 12:22 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1985-1986 season as the December 1985 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 8, 1986 (New Snow Moon)

The February 1986 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Saturday February 8, 1986 7:55 PM ET or February 9, 1986 12:55 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1985-1986 season.

March 10, 1986 (New Worm Moon)

The March 1986 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Monday March 10, 1986 10:52 AM ET or 3:52 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1985-1986 season as it happened more than a week before the Spring Equinox 1986.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Thursday March 20, 1986 6:03 PM ET or 11:03 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 9, 1986 (New Pink Moon)

The April 1986 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Wednesday April 9, 1986 2:08 AM ET or 7:08 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1986 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

Also during the April New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 13 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

May 8, 1986 (New Flower Moon)

The May 1986 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Thursday May 8, 1986 6:10 PM ET or 11:10 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 1986 season.

June 7, 1986 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 1986 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Saturday June 7, 1986 10:01 AM ET or 3:01 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1986 season as it happened about two weeks before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday June 21, 1986 12:30 PM ET or 5:30 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 7, 1986 (New Buck Moon)

The July 1986 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Monday July 7, 1986 12:55 AM ET or 5:55 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1986 season.

August 5, 1986 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1986 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Tuesday August 5, 1986 2:36 PM ET or 7:36 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1986 season.

September 4, 1986 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1986 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Thursday September 4, 1986 3:10 AM ET or 8:10 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1986 season as it happened more than two weeks before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Tuesday September 23, 1986 3:59 AM ET or 8:59 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1986 season.

October 3, 1986 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1986 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Friday October 3, 1986 2:55 PM ET or 7:55 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1986 season.

Also during the October New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 11 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

November 2, 1986 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 1986 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Sunday November 2, 1986 1:02 AM ET or 6:02 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1986 season.

December 1, 1986 (New Cold Moon)

The first December 1986 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Monday December 1, 1986 11:43 AM ET or 4:43 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1986 season as it occurred almost three weeks before the Winter Solstice.

December 30, 1986 (New Wolf Moon)

The second December 1986 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Tuesday December 30, 1986 22:10 PM ET or December 31, 1986 3:10 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 1986-1987 season as it occurred more than a week after the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday December 21, 1986 11:02 PM ET or December 22, 1986 4:02 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1986-1987 season.

What are the names of 1986 new moons?

The names of the 1986 new moons are as follows:

  1. January: New Wolf Moon
  2. February: New Snow Moon
  3. March: New Worm Moon
  4. April: New Pink Moon
  5. May: New Flower Moon
  6. June: New Strawberry Moon
  7. July: New Buck Moon
  8. August: New Sturgeon Moon
  9. September: New Harvest Moon
  10. October: New Hunter’s Moon
  11. November: New Beaver Moon
  12. December: New Cold Moon
  13. December (Second): New Wolf Moon

For most of 1986, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month, resulting in names matching.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1986?

In 1986 December had a black moon because it had 2 new moons that month.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year all seasons had 3 new moons, and February had both a new and full moon.

1986 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1986 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1986 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1986 6:03 PM ET11:03 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1986 12:30 PM ET5:30 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 1986 3:59 AM ET8:59 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1986 11:02 PM ETDecember 22, 1986 4:02 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1986 was on Wednesday April 9, 1986 2:08 AM ET or 7:08 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1986 was on Monday July 7, 1986 12:55 AM ET or 5:55 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1986 was on Friday October 3, 1986 2:55 PM ET or 7:55 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1986 was on Tuesday December 30, 1986 22:10 PM ET or December 31, 1986 3:10 AM UTC. It was the December 1986 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

1986 Solar Eclipses

During 1986 there were two solar eclipses that coincided with the new moons in April and October.

There was an Annular Solar Eclipse as part of the April New Moon, with the eclipse happening 13 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

There was also an Annular Solar Eclipse during the October New Moon with the eclipse happening 11 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

New Moons 1986 Calendar