Home » 1980 to 1989 New Moons » 1985 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

1985 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 1985 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1985 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1985 New Moon Dates?

In 1985 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 1985 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 20, 1985 9:28 PM ET (January 21, 1985 2:28 AM UTC)
  • February 19, 1985 1:43 PM ET (6:43 PM UTC)
  • March 21, 1985 7:59 AM ET (12:59 PM UTC)
  • April 20, 1985 1:22 AM ET (6:22 AM UTC)
  • May 19, 1985 5:41 PM ET (10:41 PM UTC)
  • June 18, 1985 7:58 AM ET (12:58 PM UTC)
  • July 17, 1985 7:56 PM ET (July 18, 1985 12:56 AM UTC)
  • August 16 , 1985 6:06 AM ET (11:06 AM UTC)
  • September 14, 1985 3:20 PM ET (8:20 PM UTC)
  • October 14, 1985 12:33 AM ET (5:33 AM UTC)
  • November 12, 1985 9:20 AM ET (2:20 PM UTC)
  • December 11, 1985 7:54 PM ET (December 12, 1985 12:54 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1985 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark illustration of the new moon for the dates of the new moons in 1985

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1985

For 1985, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in late January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1985 New Moons:

January 20, 1985 (New Snow Moon)

The January 1985 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Sunday January 20, 1985 9:28 PM ET or January 21, 1985 2:28 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 1984-1985 season as the December 1984 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

February 19, 1985 (New Worm Moon)

The February 1985 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Tuesday February 19, 1985 1:43 PM ET or 6:43 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1984-1985 season.

March 21, 1985 (New Pink Moon)

The March 1985 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Thursday March 21, 1985 7:59 AM ET or 12:59 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1985 season as it happened a day after the Spring Equinox.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Wednesday March 20, 1985 12:14 PM ET or 5:14 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 4 new moons.

April 20, 1985 (New Flower Moon)

The April 1985 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Saturday April 20, 1985 1:22 AM ET or 6:22 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 1985 season because the March new moon occurred after the Spring Equinox that year.

May 19, 1985 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 1985 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Sunday May 19, 1985 5:41 PM ET or 10:41 PM UTC. It was the third new moon of the Spring 1985 season. It was also considered a seasonal black moon because this was the third new moon in a four new moon season.

Also during the May New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 12 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

June 18, 1985 (New Buck Moon)

The June 1985 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Tuesday June 18, 1985 7:58 AM ET or 12:58 PM UTC. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Spring 1985 season as it happened a few days before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Friday June 21, 1985 6:45 AM ET or 11:45 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 17, 1985 (New Blue Moon)

The July 1985 new moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Wednesday July 17, 1985 7:56 PM ET or July 18, 1985 12:56 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1985 season.

August 16, 1985 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1985 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Friday August 16, 1985 6:06 AM ET or 11:06 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1985 season.

September 14, 1985 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1985 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Saturday September 14, 1985 3:20 PM ET or 8:20 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1985 season as it happened about a week before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Sunday September 22, 1985 10:08 PM ET or September 23, 1985 3:08 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1985 season.

October 14, 1985 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1985 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Monday October 14, 1985 12:33 AM ET or 5:33 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1985 season.

November 12, 1985 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 1985 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Tuesday November 12, 1985 9:20 AM ET or 2:20 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1985 season.

Also during the November New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 11 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

December 11, 1985 (New Cold Moon)

The December 1985 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Wednesday December 11, 1985 7:54 PM ET or December 12, 1985 12:54 AM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1985 season as it occurred more than a week before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday December 21, 1985 5:08 PM ET or 10:08 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1985-1986 season.

What are the names of 1985 new moons?

The names of the 1985 new moons are as follows:

  1. January: New Snow Moon
  2. February New Worm Moon
  3. March: New Pink Moon
  4. April: New Flower Moon
  5. May: New Strawberry Moon
  6. June: New Buck Moon
  7. July: New Blue Moon
  8. August: New Sturgeon Moon
  9. September: New Harvest Moon
  10. October: New Hunter’s Moon
  11. November: New Beaver Moon
  12. December: New Cold Moon

For most of 1985, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The July new moon was called a New Blue Moon because July 1985 had a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1985?

In 1985 May had a season black moon because the spring season had 4 new moons that year.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year all months had one new moon, and February had both a new and full moon. The spring season had 4 new moons, and the others had 3.

1985 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1985 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1985 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1985 12:14 PM ET5:14 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1985 6:45 AM ET11:45 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 1985 10:08 PM ETSeptember 23, 1985 3:08 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1985 5:08 PM ET10:08 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1985 was on Thursday March 21, 1985 7:59 AM ET or 12:59 PM UTC. The spring season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1985 was on Wednesday July 17, 1985 7:56 PM ET or July 18, 1985 12:56 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1985 was on Monday October 14, 1985 12:33 AM ET or 5:33 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1985 was on Friday January 10, 1986 7:22 AM ET or 12:22 PM UTC. It was the January 1986 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

1985 Solar Eclipses

During 1985 two solar eclipses coincided with the new moons in May and November.

There was a Partial Solar Eclipse as part of the May New Moon, with the eclipse happening 12 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

There was also a Total Solar Eclipse during the November New Moon with the eclipse happening 9 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

New Moons 1985 Calendar