Home » 1980 to 1989 New Moons » 1984 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

1984 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 1984 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1984 had an additional new moon over the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1984 New Moon Dates?

In 1984 there were 13 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 1984 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 3, 1984 12:16 AM ET (5:16 AM UTC)
  2. February 1, 1984 6:46 PM ET (11:46 PM UTC)
  3. March 2, 1984 1:31 PM ET (6:31 PM UTC)
  4. April 1, 1984 8:10 AM ET (1:10 PM UTC)
  5. April 30, 1984 11:45 PM ET (May 1, 1984 4:45 AM UTC)
  6. May 30, 1984 12:48 PM ET (5:48 PM UTC)
  7. June 28, 1984 11:18 PM ET (June 29, 1984 4:18 AM UTC)
  8. July 28, 1984 7:51 AM ET (12:51 PM UTC)
  9. August 26, 1984 3:25 PM ET (8:25 PM UTC)
  10. September 24, 1984 11:11 PM ET (September 25, 1984 4:11 AM UTC)
  11. October 24, 1984 8:08 AM ET (1:08 PM UTC)
  12. November 22, 1984 5:57 PM ET (10:57 PM UTC)
  13. December 22, 1984 6:47 AM ET (11:47 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1984 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark illustration of the new moon for the dates of the new moons in 1984

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1984

For 1984, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early January setting up the year to have the 13 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1984 New Moons:

January 3, 1984 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 1984 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Tuesday January 3, 1984 12:16 AM ET or 5:16 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1983-1984 season as the December 1983 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 1, 1984 (New Snow Moon)

The February 1984 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Wednesday February 1, 1984 6:46 PM ET or 11:46 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1983-1984 season.

March 2, 1984 (New Worm Moon)

The March 1984 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Friday March 2, 1984 1:31 PM ET or 6:31 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1983-1984 season as it happened more than two weeks before the Spring Equinox 1984.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Tuesday March 20, 1984 6:24 AM ET or 11:24 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 1, 1984 (New Pink Moon)

The first April 1984 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Sunday April 1, 1984 8:10 AM ET or 1:10 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1984 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

April 30, 1984 (New Flower Moon)

The second April 1984 new moon for the Eastern time zone, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Monday April 30, 1984 11:45 PM ET or May 1, 1984 4:45 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 1984 season. For the UTC time zone, May had 2 new moons that year instead of April.

May 30, 1984 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 1984 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Wednesday May 30, 1984 12:48 PM ET or 5:48 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1984 season.

Also during the May New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 3 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

June 28, 1984 (New Buck Moon)

The June 1984 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Thursday June 28, 1984 11:18 PM ET or June 29, 1984 4:18 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1984 season as it happened about a week after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday June 21, 1984 1:02 AM ET or 6:02 AM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 28, 1984 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 1984 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Saturday July 28, 1984 7:51 AM ET or 12:51 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1984 season.

August 26, 1984 (New Harvest Moon)

The August 1984 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Sunday August 26, 1984 3:25 PM ET or 8:25 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1984 season.

September 24, 1984 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1984 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Monday September 24, 1984 11:11 PM ET or September 25, 1984 4:11 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Fall 1984 season as it happened a couple of days after the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Saturday September 22, 1984 4:33 PM ET or 9:33 PM UTC, before the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1984 season.

October 24, 1984 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 1984 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Wednesday October 24, 1984 8:08 AM ET or 1:08 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1984 season.

November 22, 1984 (New Cold Moon)

The November 1984 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Thursday November 22, 1984 5:57 PM ET or 10:57 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 1984 season.

Also during the November New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 2 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

December 22, 1984 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 1984 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Saturday December 22, 1984 6:47 AM ET or 11:47 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 1984-1985 season as it occurred about a day after the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Friday December 21, 1984 11:23 AM ET or 4:23 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1984-1985 season.

What are the names of 1984 new moons?

The names of the 1984 new moons are as follows:

  1. January: New Wolf Moon
  2. February: New Snow Moon
  3. March: New Worm Moon
  4. April: New Pink Moon
  5. April (second): New Flower Moon
  6. May: New Strawberry Moon
  7. June: New Buck Moon
  8. July: New Sturgeon Moon
  9. August: New Harvest Moon
  10. September: New Hunter’s Moon
  11. October: New Beaver Moon
  12. November: New Cold Moon
  13. December: New Wolf Moon

For the second half of 1984, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The August new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1984?

In 1984 April had a black moon because it had 2 new moons for the Eastern Time Zone. For the UTC time zone, 2 new moons happened in May.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

1984 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1984 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1984 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1984 6:24 AM ET11:24 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1984 1:02 AM ET6:02 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 1984 4:33 PM ET9:33 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1984 11:23 AM ET4:23 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1984 was on Sunday April 1, 1984 8:10 AM ET or 1:10 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1984 was on Thursday June 28, 1984 11:18 PM ET or June 29, 1984 4:18 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1984 was on Monday September 24, 1984 11:11 PM ET or September 25, 1984 4:11 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1984 was on Saturday December 22, 1984 6:47 AM ET or 11:47 AM UTC. It was the December 1984 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

1984 Solar Eclipses

During 1984 there were two solar eclipses that coincided with the May and November new moons.

There was an Annular Solar Eclipse as part of the late November New Moon, with the eclipse happening 3 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

There was also a Total Solar Eclipse during the November New Moon with the eclipse happening 2 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

New Moons 1984 Calendar