Home » 1980 to 1989 New Moons » 1983 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

1983 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 1983 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1983 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1983 New Moon Dates?

In 1983 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 1983 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 14, 1983 12:08 AM ET (5:08 AM UTC)
  2. February 12, 1983 7:32 PM ET (February 13, 1983 12:32 AM UTC)
  3. March 14, 1983 1:44 PM ET (6:44 PM UTC)
  4. April 13, 1983 3:58 AM ET (8:58 AM UTC)
  5. May 12, 1983 3:25 PM ET (8:25 PM UTC)
  6. June 11, 1983 12:37 AM ET (5:37 AM UTC)
  7. July 10, 1983 8:18 AM ET (1:18 PM UTC)
  8. August 8, 1983 3:18 PM ET (8:18 PM UTC)
  9. September 6, 1983 10:35 PM ET (September 7, 1983 3:35 AM UTC)
  10. October 6, 1983 7:16 AM ET (12:16 PM UTC)
  11. November 4, 1983 5:21 PM ET (10:21 PM UTC)
  12. December 4, 1983 7:26 AM ET (12:26 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1983 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark illustration of the new moon for the dates of the new moons in 1983

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1983

For 1983, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in mid-January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1983 New Moons:

January 14, 1983 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 1983 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Friday January 14, 1983 12:08 AM ET or 5:08 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1982-1983 season as the December 1982 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 12, 1983 (New Snow Moon)

The February 1983 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Saturday February 12, 1983 7:32 PM ET or February 13, 1983 12:32 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1982-1983 season.

March 14, 1983 (New Worm Moon)

The March 1983 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Monday March 14, 1983 1:44 PM ET or 6:44 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1982-1983 season as it happened about a week before the Spring Equinox 1983.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Monday March 21, 1983 12:38 AM ET or 5:38 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 13, 1983 (New Pink Moon)

The April 1983 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Wednesday April 13, 1983 3:58 AM ET or 8:58 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1983 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 12, 1983 (New Flower Moon)

The May 1983 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Thursday May 12, 1983 3:25 PM ET or 8:25 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 1983 season.

June 11, 1983 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 1983 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Saturday June 11, 1983 12:37 AM ET or 5:37 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1983 season as it happened more than a week before the Summer Solstice.

Also during the June New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 6 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Tuesday June 21, 1983 7:08 PM ET or June 22, 1983 12:08 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 10, 1983 (New Buck Moon)

The July 1983 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Sunday July 10, 1983 8:18 AM ET or 1:18 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1983 season.

August 8, 1983 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1983 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Monday August 8, 1983 3:18 PM ET or 8:18 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1983 season.

September 6, 1983 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1983 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Tuesday September 6, 1983 10:35 PM ET or September 7, 1983 3:35 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1983 season as it happened more than two weeks before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Friday September 23, 1983 10:41 AM ET or 3:41 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1983 season.

October 6, 1983 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1983 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Thursday October 6, 1983 7:16 AM ET or 12:16 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1983 season.

November 4, 1983 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 1983 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Friday November 4, 1983 5:21 PM ET or 10:21 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1983 season.

December 4, 1983 (New Cold Moon)

The December 1983 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Sunday December 4, 1983 7:26 AM ET or 12:26 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1983 season as it occurred more than two weeks before the Winter Solstice.

Also during the December New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 5 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday December 22, 1983 5:30 AM ET or 10:30 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1983-1984 season.

What are the names of 1983 new moons?

The names of the 1983 new moons are as follows:

  1. January: New Wolf Moon
  2. February: New Snow Moon
  3. March: New Worm Moon
  4. April: New Pink Moon
  5. May: New Flower Moon
  6. June: New Strawberry Moon
  7. July: New Buck Moon
  8. August: New Sturgeon Moon
  9. September: New Harvest Moon
  10. October: New Hunter’s Moon
  11. November: New Beaver Moon
  12. December: New Cold Moon

For most of 1983, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month, resulting in the names matching.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1983?

No, in 1983 there was not a black moon by any of the definitions.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year all months had one new moon and each season had 3 new moons. February also had a full moon at the very end of the month..

1983 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1983 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1983 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 21, 1983 12:38 AM ET5:38 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1983 7:08 PM ETJune 22, 1983 12:08 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 1983 10:41 AM ET3:41 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 22, 1983 5:30 AM ET10:30 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1983 was on Wednesday April 13, 1983 3:58 AM ET or 8:58 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1983 was on Sunday July 10, 1983 8:18 AM ET or 1:18 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1983 was on Thursday October 6, 1983 7:16 AM ET or 12:16 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1983 was on Tuesday January 3, 1984 12:16 AM ET or 5:16 AM UTC. It was the January 1984 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

1983 Solar Eclipses

During 1983 there were two solar eclipses that coincided with the new moons in July and December.

There was a Total Solar Eclipse as part of the June New Moon, with the eclipse happening 6 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

There was also an Annular Solar Eclipse during the December New Moon with the eclipse happening 15 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

New Moons 1983 Calendar