Home » 1980 to 1989 New Moons » 1982 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

1982 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 1982 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1982 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1982 New Moon Dates?

In 1982 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 1982 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 24, 1982 11:56 PM ET (January 25, 1982 4:56 AM UTC)
  2. February 23, 1982 4:13 PM ET (9:13 PM UTC)
  3. March 25, 1982 6:17 AM ET (11:17 AM UTC)
  4. April 23, 1982 4:29 PM ET (9:29 PM UTC)
  5. May 23, 1982 12:40 AM ET (5:40 AM UTC)
  6. June 21, 1982 7:52 AM ET (2:52 PM UTC)
  7. July 20, 1982 2:56 PM ET (7:56 PM UTC)
  8. August 18, 1982 10:45 PM ET (August 19, 1982 3:45 AM UTC)
  9. September 17, 1982 8:09 AM ET (1:09 PM UTC)
  10. October 16, 1982 8:04 PM ET (October 17, 1982 1:04 AM UTC)
  11. November 15, 1982 10:10 AM ET (3:10 PM UTC)
  12. December 15, 1982 4:18 AM ET (9:18 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1982 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark illustration of the new moon for the dates of the new moons in 1982

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 1982

For 1982, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in late January, setting up the year to have 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 1982 New Moons:

January 24, 1982 (New Snow Moon)

The January 1982 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Sunday January 24, 1982 11:56 PM ET or January 25, 1982 4:56 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 1981-1982 season as the December 1981 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

February 23, 1982 (New Worm Moon)

The February 1982 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Tuesday February 23, 1982 4:13 PM ET or 9:13 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1981-1982 season.

March 25, 1982 (New Pink Moon)

The March 1982 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Thursday March 25, 1982 6:17 AM ET or 11:17 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1982 season as it happened a few days after the Spring Equinox 1982.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Saturday March 20, 1982 6:56 PM ET or 11:56 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 4 new moons.

April 23, 1982 (New Flower Moon)

The April 1982 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Friday April 23, 1982 4:29 PM ET or 9:29 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 1982 season.

May 23, 1982 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 1982 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Sunday May 23, 1982 12:40 AM ET or 5:40 AM UTC. It was the third new moon of the Spring 1982 season. It was also considered a seasonal black moon because Spring had 4 new moons that year.

June 21, 1982 (New Buck Moon)

The June 1982 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Monday June 21, 1982 7:52 AM ET or 2:52 PM UTC. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Spring 1982 season as it happened a few hours before the Summer Solstice.

Also during the June New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 12 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Monday June 21, 1982 1:24 PM ET or 6:24 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 20, 1982 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 1982 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Tuesday July 20, 1982 2:56 PM ET or 7:56 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1982 season.

Also during the July New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 11 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

August 18, 1982 (New Corn Moon)

The August 1982 new moon, also called the New Corn Moon, was on Wednesday August 18, 1982 10:45 PM ET or August 19, 1982 3:45 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1982 season.

September 17, 1982 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1982 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Friday September 17, 1982 8:09 AM ET or 1:09 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1982 season as it happened about a week before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Thursday September 23, 1982 4:47 AM ET or 9:47 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1982 season.

October 16, 1982 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 1982 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Saturday October 16, 1982 8:04 PM ET or October 17, 1982 1:04 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1982 season.

November 15, 1982 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 1982 New Moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Monday November 15, 1982 10:10 AM ET or 3:10 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1982 season.

December 15, 1982 (New Cold Moon)

The December 1982 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Wednesday December 15, 1982 4:18 AM ET or 9:18 AM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1982 season as it occurred about a week before the Winter Solstice.

Also during the December New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 14 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Tuesday December 21, 1982 11:39 PM ET or December 22, 1982 4:39 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1982-1983 season.

What are the names of 1982 new moons?

The names of the 1982 new moons are as follows:

  1. January: New Snow Moon
  2. February: New Worm Moon
  3. March: New Pink Moon
  4. April: New Flower Moon
  5. May: New Strawberry Moon
  6. June: New Buck Moon
  7. July: New Sturgeon Moon
  8. August: New Corn Moon
  9. September: New Harvest Moon
  10. October: New Beaver Moon
  11. November: New Blue Moon
  12. December: New Cold Moon

For most of 1982, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The November new moon was called a New Blue Moon because November 1982 had a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the October Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1982?

In 1982 May had a seasonal black moon because it was the third new moon in a season with four.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year all months had one new moon, and February had both a new and full moon. 1982 had a seasonal black moon because the spring season had four new moons.

1982 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1982 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1982 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1982 6:56 PM ET11:56 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1982 1:24 PM ET6:24 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 1982 4:47 AM ET9:47 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1982 11:39 PM ETDecember 22, 1982 4:39 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1982 was on Thursday March 25, 1982 6:17 AM ET or 11:17 AM UTC. The spring season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1982 was on Tuesday July 20, 1982 2:56 PM ET or 7:56 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1982 was on Saturday October 16, 1982 8:04 PM ET or October 17, 1982 1:04 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1982 was on Friday January 14, 1983 12:08 AM ET or 5:08 AM UTC. It was the January 1983 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

1982 Solar Eclipses

During 1982 there were three solar eclipses that coincided with the new moons in June, July, and December. It was a rare year where the solar eclipses are in consecutive months.

There was a partial Solar Eclipse as part of the June New Moon, with the eclipse happening 12 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

There was also a Partial Solar Eclipse during the July New Moon with the eclipse happening 11 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

And finally there was a Partial Solar Eclipse during the December New Moon with the eclipse happening 14 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

New Moons 1982 Calendar