Home » 1980 to 1989 New Moons » 1981 New Moon Calendar of 13 new moons

1981 New Moon Calendar of 13 new moons

The New Moon 1981 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1981 dates of the 13 new moons? Take a look at each month, the signs of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Watercolor picture of the moon for the 1981 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

What were the 1981 New Moon Dates?

In 1980 there were 13 new moons on the following dates based on the United States Eastern time zone. The dates of the 1981 New Moons were:

  1. January 6, 1981 2:24 AM
  2. February 4, 1981 5:14 PM
  3. March 6, 1981 5:31 AM
  4. April 4, 1981 4:19 PM
  5. May 4, 1981 12:19 AM
  6. June 2, 1981 7:32 AM
  7. July 1, 1981 3:03 PM
  8. July 30, 1981 11:52 PM
  9. August 29, 1981 10:44 AM
  10. September 28, 1981 12:07 AM
  11. October 27, 1981 3:13 PM
  12. November 26, 1981 9:38 AM
  13. December 26, 1981 5:10 AM

New Moon 1981 Calendar by Month

For 1981, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early January setting up the year to have the 13 new moons during the year.

January 6, 1981 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 1981 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Tuesday January 6, 1981 2:24 AM ET or 7:24 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1980-1981 season as the December 1980 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 4, 1981 (New Snow Moon)

The February 1981 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Wednesday February 4, 1981 5:14 PM ET or 10:14 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1980-1981 season.

Also during the February New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 6 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

March 6, 1981 (New Worm Moon)

The March 1981 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Friday March 6, 1981 5:31 AM ET or 10:31 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1980-1981 season as it happened a couple of weeks before the Spring Equinox 1981.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Friday March 20, 1981 1:03 PM ET or 6:03 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 4, 1981 (New Pink Moon)

The April 1981 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Saturday April 4, 1981 4:19 PM ET or 9:19 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1981 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 4, 1981 (New Flower Moon)

The May 1981 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Monday May 4, 1981 12:19 AM ET or 5:19 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 1981 season.

June 2, 1981 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 1981 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Tuesday June 2, 1981 7:32 AM ET or 12:32 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1981 season as it happened more than two weeks before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday June 21, 1981 7:45 AM ET or 12:45 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 1, 1981 (New Buck Moon)

The first July 1981 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Wednesday July 1, 1981 3:03 PM ET or 8:03 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1981 season.

July 30, 1981 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The second July 1981 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday July 30, 1981 11:52 PM ET or July 31, 1981 4:52 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1981 season.

Also during the second July New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 5 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

August 29, 1981 (New Harvest Moon)

The August 1981 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Saturday August 29, 1981 10:44 AM ET or 3:44 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1981 season.

September 28, 1981 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The September 1981 new moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was Monday September 28, 1981 12:07 AM ET or 5:07 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Fall 1981 season as it happened a few days after the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Tuesday September 22, 1981 11:05 PM ET or 4:05 AM UTC, before the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1981 season.

October 27, 1981 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 1981 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Tuesday October 27, 1981 3:13 PM ET or 8:13 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1981 season.

November 26, 1981 (New Cold Moon)

The November 1981 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Thursday November 26, 1981 9:38 AM ET or 2:38 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 1981 season.

December 26, 1981 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 1981 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Saturday December 26, 1981 5:10 AM ET or 10:10 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 1981-1982 season as it occurred a few days after the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Monday December 21, 1981 5:51 PM ET or 10:51 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1981-1982 season.

What are the names of 1981 new moons?

The names of the 1981 new moons were:

  1. January: New Wolf Moon
  2. February: New Snow Moon
  3. March: New Worm Moon
  4. April: New Pink Moon
  5. May: New Flower Moon
  6. June: New Strawberry Moon
  7. July: New Buck Moon
  8. July (second): New Sturgeon Moon
  9. August: New Harvest Moon
  10. September: New Hunter’s Moon
  11. October: New Beaver Moon
  12. November: New Cold Moon
  13. December: New Wolf Moon

For the first half of the 1981, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month, result in the names matching. For the second half of the year, the new moon was in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The August new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1981?

In 1981 July had a black moon because it had two new moons, one definition of a black moon.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year each season had 3 new moons and February had both a new and full moon. July had two new moons, fitting that black moon definition.

1981 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1981 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1981 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1981 1:03 PM ET6:03 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1981 7:45 AM ET12:45 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 1981 11:05 PM ET4:05 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 1981 5:51 PM ET10:51 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1981 was on Saturday April 4, 1981 4:19 PM ET or 9:19 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1981 was on Wednesday July 1, 1981 3:03 PM ET or 8:03 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1981 was on Monday September 28, 1981 12:07 AM ET or 5:07 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1981 was on Saturday December 26, 1981 5:10 AM ET or 10:10 AM UTC. The winter season had 3 new moons.

1981 Solar Eclipses

During 1981 there were two solar eclipses that coincided with the new moons. There was an Annular Solar Eclipse as part of the February New Moon, with the eclipse happening 6 minutes before the peak of the new moon. There was also a Total Solar Eclipse during the second July New Moon with the eclipse happening 5 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

New Moons 1981 Calendar