1980 New Moon Calendar of 12 new moons

Home » 1980 to 1989 New Moons » 1980 New Moon Calendar of 12 new moons

The New Moon 1980 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1980 dates of the 12 new moons? Take a look at each month, the signs of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark illustration of the new moon for the dates of the new moons in 1980

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

What were the 1980 New Moon Dates?

In 1980 there were 12 new moons on the following dates based on the United States Eastern time zone. The dates and signs of the 1980 New Moons were:

  1. January 17, 1980, the new moon in Capricorn
  2. February 16, 1980, the new moon in Aquarius
  3. March 16, 1980, the new moon in Pisces
  4. April 14, 1980 (April 15 UTC), the new moon in Aries
  5. May 14, 1980, the new moon in Taurus
  6. June 12, 1980, the new moon in Gemini
  7. July 12, 1980, the new moon in Cancer
  8. August 10, 1980, the new moon in Leo
  9. September 9, 1980, the new moon in Virgo
  10. October 8, 1980 (October 9 UTC), the new moon in Libra
  11. November 7, 1980, the new moon in Scorpio
  12. December 7, 1980, the new moon in Sagittarius

New Moon 1980 Calendar by Month

For 1980, there were 12 new moons. The year started with its first new moon in mid-January setting up the year to have 12 new moons during the year.

January 1980 New Moon

The first new moon of 1980 was in January on Thursday January 17, 1980 at 4:19 PM EST or 9:19 PM UTC. The January 1980 New Moon was the new moon in Capricorn. It was the first new moon of the Winter 1979-1980 season as the first new moon after the 1979 Winter Solstice.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the January 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Capricorn date

The January 17th new moon started the lunar cycle for the January Full Blue Moon at the end of the month. In addition to being the new moon in Capricorn, the January new moon was also called the New Blue Moon.

February 1980 New Moon

The second 1980 new moon was in February on Saturday February 16, 1980 at 3:51 AM EST or 8:51 AM UTC. The February 1980 New Moon was the new moon in Aquarius. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1979-1980 season as the second new moon after the Winter Solstice in 1979.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the February 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Aquarius date

The February 16th new moon started the lunar cycle for the March 1st full moon. In addition to being the new moon in Aquarius, the February new moon was also called the New Worm Moon.

Also during the February New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 3 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The February 1980 New Moon was the first of three new supermoons on the schedule for 1980.

March 1980 New Moon

The third new moon in 1980 was in March on Sunday March 16, 1980 at 2:56 PM EST or 7:56 PM UTC. The March 1980 New Moon was the new moon in Pisces. It was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1979-1980 season as it occurred before the Spring Equinox 1980.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the March 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Pisces date

The March 16th new moon started the lunar cycle for the Full Blue Moon at the end of March. In addition to being the new moon in Pisces, March New Moon was also called the New Blue Moon. There were two full blue moons in 1980 for the United States. The calendar shifted for other time zones.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Thursday March 20, 1980 at 7:10 AM EST or 12:10 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 1980 New Moon

The fourth 1980 new moon was in April on Monday April 14, 1980 11:46 PM EST or April 15, 1980 4:46 AM UTC. The April 1980 New Moon was the new moon in Aries. It was the first new moon of the Spring 1980 season as the first new moon after the 1980 Spring Equinox.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the April 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Aries date

The April 15th new moon was the start of the lunar cycle for the Full Pink Moon. In addition to being the new moon in Aries, the April New Moon was also called the New Pink Moon.

May 1980 New Moon

The fifth new moon in 1980 was in May on Wednesday May 14, 1980 at 8:00 AM EDT or 1:00 PM UTC. The May 1980 New Moon was the new moon in Taurus. It was the second new moon of Spring 1980 as the second new moon after the Spring Equniox.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the May 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Taurus date

The May 14th new moon was the start of the lunar cycle for the Full Flower Moon at the end of May. In addition to being the new moon in Taurus, the May New Moon was called the New Flower Moon.

June 1980 New Moon

The sixth 1980 new moon was in June on Thursday June 12, 1980 4:38 PM EDT or 9:38 PM UTC. The June 1980 New Moon was the new moon in Gemini. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1980 season as it happened before the 1980 Summer Solstice.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the June 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Gemini date

The June 12th new moon was the start of the lunar cycle for the Full Strawberry Moon at the end of June. In addition being the new moon in Gemini, June New Moon was also called the New Strawberry Moon.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday June 21, 1980 at 1:47 AM EDT or 6:47 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 1980 New Moon

The seventh new moon of 1980 was in July on Saturday July 12, 1980 at 2:46 AM EDT or 7:46 AM UTC. The July 1980 New Moon was the new moon in Cancer. It was the first new moon of the Summer 1980 season as the first new moon after the Summer Solstice.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the July 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Cancer date

The July 12th new moon was the start of the lunar cycle for the Full Buck Moon at the end of July. In addition to being the new moon in Cancer, the July New Moon was also called the New Buck Moon.

August 1980 New Moon

The eighth 1980 new moon was in August on Sunday August 10, 1980 at 3:09 PM EDT or 8:09 PM UTC. The August 1980 New Moon was the new moon in Leo. It was the second new moon of Summer as the second new moon after the Summer Solstice.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the August 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Leo date

The August 10th new moon was the start of the lunar cycle for the Full Sturgeon Moon at the end of August. In addition to being the new moon in Leo, the August New Moon was also called the New Sturgeon Moon.

Also during the August New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 3 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

September 1980 New Moon

The ninth new moon in 1980 was in September on Tuesday September 9, 1980 at 6:00 AM EDT or 11:00 AM UTC. The September 1980 New Moon was the new moon in Virgo. It was the last new moon of Summer as it occurred before the Autumnal Equinox.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the September 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Virgo date

The September 9th new moon was the start of the lunar cycle for the Full Harvest Moon at the end of September. In addition to being the new moon in Virgo, the September New Moon was called the New Harvest Moon.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Monday September 22, 1980 at 5:09 PM EDT or 10:09 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1980 season.

October 1980 New Moon

The tenth 1980 new moon was in October on Wednesday October 8, 1980 at 10:50 PM EDT or October 9, 1980 3:50 AM UTC. The October 1980 new moon was the new moon in Libra. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1980 season as the first new moon after the Autumnal Equinox.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the October 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Libra date

The October 8th new moon started the lunar cycle for the Full Hunter’s Moon. In addition to being the new moon in Libra, the October New Moon was called the New Hunter’s Moon.

November 1980 New Moon

The eleventh new moon of 1980 was in November on Friday November 7, 1980 at 3:43 PM EST or 8:43 PM UTC. The November 1980 new moon was the new moon in Scorpio. It was the second new moon of Autumn as the second new moon after the 1980 Autumnal Equinox.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the November 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Scorpio date

The November 7th new moon started the lunar cycle for the Full Beaver Moon. In addition to being the new moon in Scorpio, the November New Moon was called the New Beaver Moon.

December 1980 New Moon

The last new moon of 1980 was in December on Sunday December 7, 1980 at 9:35 AM EST or 2:35 PM UTC. The December 1980 new moon was the new moon in Sagittarius. The twelfth 1980 new moon was also the last new moon of Autumn as it occurred before the Winter Solstice.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the December 1980 New Moon, the new moon in Sagittarius date

the December 7th new moon started the lunar cycle for the Full Cold Moon. In addition to being the new moon in Sagittarius, the December New Moon was called the New Cold Moon. It’s also interesting to note the lunar cycle started in Autumn and ended in Winter that year.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday December 21, 1980 at 11:56 AM EST or 4:56 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1980-1981 season.

What were the names of the 1980 new moons?

The names of the 1980 new moons were:

  1. January 17: New Blue Moon
  2. February 16: New Worm Moon
  3. March 16: New Blue Moon
  4. April 14 (April 15 UTC): New Pink Moon
  5. May 14: New Flower Moon
  6. June 12: New Strawberry Moon
  7. July 12: New Buck Moon
  8. August 10: New Sturgeon Moon
  9. September 9: New Harvest Moon
  10. October 8 (October 9 UTC): New Hunter’s Moon
  11. November 7: New Beaver Moon
  12. December 7: New Cold Moon

For most of 1980, the new moon and full moon for a lunar cycle occurred in the same month, resulting in a name match between the two.

The January and March new moons were called a New Blue Moon because January and March had blue moons that year for the United States’ time zones.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

What were the signs of the 1980 new moons?

The astrological signs of the 1980 new moons were:

  1. January 17: Capricorn
  2. February 16: Aquarius
  3. March 16: Pisces
  4. April 14 (April 15 UTC): Aries
  5. May 14: Taurus
  6. June 12: Gemini
  7. July 12: Cancer
  8. August 10: Leo
  9. September 9: Virgo
  10. October 8 (October 9 UTC): Libra
  11. November 7: Scorpio
  12. December 7: Sagittarius

In 1980, the new moons aligned with the astrological cycles such that there was one new moon per sign.

New Supermoons in 1980

In 1980 there were three new supermoons. The February, March, and April New Moons were closer than 360,000 kilometers during their peak. In addition, the January and May new moons were just beyond the 360,000 kilometers point, making them and potentially also new supermoons depending on the definition you reference.

Was there a black moon in 1980?

In 1980 February had a black moon because it didn’t have a full moon that year. This happens when both January and March have blue moons, not leaving enough time for a February Full Moon.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year all months had one new moon and each season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon each season

In 1980 all of the seasons had three new moons. There was not a seasonal black moon on the calendar that year.

1980 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1980 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were on:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 1980 at 7:10 AM EST or 12:10 PM UTC
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1980 at 1:47 AM EDT or 6:47 AM UTC
  • Autumn Equinox: September 22, 1980 at 5:09 PM EDT or 10:09 PM UTC
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 1980 at 11:56 AM EST or 4:56 PM UTC

First Spring New Moon

The first Spring 1980 New Moon was the first new moon after Spring Equinox in April on Monday April 14, 1980 11:46 PM EDT or April 15, 1980 4:46 AM UTC. It was also the new moon in Aries and called the New Pink Moon. The spring season had 3 new moons.

First Summer New Moon

The first Summer 1980 New Moon was the first new moon after the Summer Solstice in July on Saturday July 12, 1980 at 2:46 AM EDT or 7:46 AM UTC. It was also the new moon in Cancer and called the New Buck Moon. The summer season had 3 new moons.

First Autumn New Moon

The first Autumn 1980 New Moon was the first new moon after the Autumnal Equinox in October on Wednesday October 8, 1980 10:50 PM EDT or October 9, 1980 3:50 AM UTC. It was also the new moon in Libra and called the New Hunter’s Moon. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

First Winter New Moon

The first Winter 1980-1981 New Moon was the first new moon after the Winter Solstice in January 1981 on Tuesday January 6, 1981 at 2:24 AM EST or 7:24 AM UTC. It was also the new moon in Capricorn and called the New Wolf moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

1980 Solar Eclipses

In 1980 two solar eclipses coincided with the new moons in February and August.

There was a Total Solar Eclipse as part of the February New Moon on February 16th with the eclipse happening 3 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

There was also an Annular Solar Eclipse during the August New Moon on August 10th with the eclipse happening 3 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

New Moons 1980 Calendar