Home » New Moon Calendar 2023 » June 2023 New Moon, the new moon in Gemini

June 2023 New Moon, the new moon in Gemini

Take a look back at the June 2023 New Moon! The June New Moon was on Sunday June 18, 2023 based on the data provided by NASA. It will be the sixth new moon in 2023.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible, though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the June New Moon? Learn more about the moon’s nicknames and other facts about it.

Dark photo of the moon for the New Moon June 2023 date, the New Buck Moon and new moon in Gemini

The dates and times provided by NASA in the United States Eastern Time are for Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. Since you may be in a different time zone, the exact dates may shift for your calendar.

When was the new moon in June 2023?

The new moon in June was on Sunday June 18, 2023 at 12:37 AM EDT or 4:37 AM UTC. The June 18th new moon was the sixth new moon of 2023 and the new moon in Gemini.

What was the name of the June 2023 New Moon?

The June 2023 New Moon was called the New Buck Moon because it started the July Full Moon lunar cycle. Depending on the year the name will change.

The associated full moon’s name is not likely a name you would have immediately guessed. The Full Buck Moon takes its name from the time of year when antlers start to appear on male deer (bucks).

Other nicknames for when the June New Moon when it start’s July’s full moon cycle include the Thunder Moon and Hay Moon.

Which season included the June New Moon?

In 2023, the June New Moon was the third new moon of the Spring 2023 season. It was the fourth and last new moon after the Spring Equinox in 2023.

The Vernal or Spring equinox marks the beginning of astronomical spring and the end of astronomical winter in the Northern Hemisphere.

In 2023, the Spring Equinox was on Monday March 20, 2023 at 5:25 PM EDT or 9:25 PM UTC. And the Summer Solstice was on Wednesday June 21, 2023 at 10:58 AM EDT or 2:58 PM UTC

When was the full moon for the 2023 New Buck Moon?

The Full Buck Moon was on Monday July 3, 2023 at 7:39 AM EDT or 11:39 AM UTC and will be the full moon in Capricorn.

The full moon in June 2023 was the middle of the lunar cycle that started in May 2023.

June 2023 Moon Phases in Eastern Time and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for June 2023 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter that are on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseUS Eastern Date & TimeUTC Date & Time
June Full MoonJune 3, 2023 11:42 PM EDTJune 4, 2023 3:42 AM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 10, 2023 3:31 PM EDTJune 10, 2023 7:31 PM UTC
June New MoonJune 18, 2023 12:37 AM EDTJune 18, 2023 4:37 AM UTC
June First QuarterJune 26, 2023 3:50 AM EDTJune 26, 2023 7:50 AM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Have additional questions about the June New Moons? Here are a few of the frequently asked questions to help you.

How many new moons were there in June 2023?

In 2023, there was one new moon in June. The June New Moon was on Sunday June 18, 2023. In some years the calendar aligns so that June has two new moons, but not for 2023.

Future New Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the new moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these future full moon calendars.

Pin for later

Dark photo of the moon for the June 2023 New Moon, the New Buck Moon, new moon in Gemini