September 2024 Full Moon, the Full Harvest Moon

Home » Full Moon Calendar 2024 » September 2024 Full Moon, the Full Harvest Moon

Mark your calendars for the September 2024 Full Moon. The September full moon in 2024 will be on Tuesday September 17, 2024 10:34 PM EDT or September 18, 2024 2:34 AM UTC based on the data provided by NASA. It will be the tenth full moon on the 2024 Full Moon schedule.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is between the Sun and the Moon, so the moon looks completely illuminated. It happens about once a month or 29.53 days on average, also called a  synodic month.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the September 2024 Full Moon? Learn more about the moon’s nicknames and other facts.

Photo of the moon for the date of the the Full Harvest Moon 2024, the September 2024 Full Moon

The dates and times provided by NASA in the United States Eastern Time are for Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. Since you may be in a different time zone, the exact dates may shift for your calendar.

When is the full moon in September 2024?

The September 2024 full moon will be on Tuesday September 17, 2024 10:34 PM EDT or September 18, 2024 2:34 AM UTC. It will be the ninth full moon of 2024 and the full moon in Pisces. The September 17th full moon will be a full supermoon and will have a partial lunar eclipse.

Depending on the year, the full moon in September may be the ninth or tenth full moon of the year.

Learn more about the Full Moons in 2024

What is the name of the September 2024 Full Moon?

One name for the September 2024 Full Moon is the Full Harvest Moon. The nickname is inspired by nature and agriculture as well as the timing of the Fall Equinox. In 2024, the September full moon will be called the Full Harvest Moon because it will be closer to the start of Autumn than October’s.

In other years, the September Full Moon is also called the Full Corn Moon.

Which season includes the September Full Moon?

In 2024, the September Full Moon will be the last full moon of the Summer season. It will be the last full moon before the 2024 Autumnal Equinox.

The Autumnal Equinox marks the beginning of astronomical autumn and the end of astronomical summer in the Northern Hemisphere.

In 2024, the Autumnal Equinox will be on Sunday September 22, 2024 8:44 AM EDT or 12:44 PM UTC.

Depending on the year, the Full Harvest Moon could occur either at the end of Summer or at the beginning of Autumn depending on how the full moons line up with the Autumnal Equinox. In 2024 the Full Harvest Moon will be at the end of Summer.

When is the new moon for the 2024 Full Harvest Moon?

The lunar cycle for the September Full Moon will begin with its new moon in September 2024. The New Harvest Moon will be on Monday September 2, 2024 9:55 PM EDT or September 3, 2024 1:55 AM UTC and will be the new moon in Virgo.

Depending on how the lunar cycles align to the calendar each year, the September new and full moons could be in different months and different seasons. In 2024 the September new and full moon will be in same season, and same month.

Future September Full Moons

Wondering when in the future the full moons will occur in September beyond September 2024 full moon? Here’s a list through 2029.

YearDay of the weekFuture September Full Moons
2023FridaySeptember 29, 2023 5:57 AM EDT
2024TuesdaySeptember 17, 2024 10:34 PM EDT
2025SundaySeptember 7, 2025 2:09 PM EDT
2026SaturdaySeptember 26, 2026 12:49 PM EDT
2027WednesdaySeptember 15, 2027 7:04 PM EDT
2028SundaySeptember 3, 2028 7:48 PM EDT
2029SaturdaySeptember 22, 2029 12:29 PM EDT

Past September Full Moons

And what about the past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past for September.

YearDay of the weekPast September Full Moons
2022SaturdaySeptember 10, 2022 5:59 AM EDT
2021MondaySeptember 20, 2021 7:55 PM EDT
2020WednesdaySeptember 2, 2020 1:22 AM EDT
2019SaturdaySeptember 14, 2019 12:33 AM EDT
2018MondaySeptember 24, 2018 10:53 PM EDT
2017WednesdaySeptember 6, 2017 3:03 AM EDT

Frequently Asked Questions

Have additional questions about the September Full Moons? Here are a few of the frequently asked questions to help you.

When was the September 2022 full moon?

The September 2022 Full Moon was on Saturday September 10, 2022 5:59 AM EDT or 9:59 AM UTC. This was the last full moon of the Summer 2022 season as the September 2022 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox.

When was the September 2021 full moon?

The September 2021 Full Moon was on Monday September 20, 2021 7:55 PM EDT or 11:55 PM UTC. This was the last full moon of the Summer 2021 season as the September 2021 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox.

When was the September 2020 full moon?

The September 2020 Full Moon was on Wednesday September 2, 2020 1:22 AM EDT or 5:22 AM UTC. This was the last full moon of the Summer 2020 season as the September 2020 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these future full moon calendars.

Photo of the moon for the September 2024 Full Moon, the Full Harvest Moon