Full Moon September 2023: The Full Harvest Moon

Mark your calendars for the next September 2023 Full Moon. The next September full moon is Friday September 29, 2023 5:57 AM EDT or 10:57 AM UTC based on the data provided by NASA. It will be the tenth full moon on the 2023 Full Moon schedule.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the September 2023 Full Moon? Learn more about the moon’s nicknames and other facts.

Photo of the moon for the Full Moon September 2023 date, the Full Harvest Moon

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

What is the name of the September 2023 Full Moon?

One name for the September 2023 Full Moon is the Full Harvest Moon. The nickname is inspired by nature and agriculture as well as the timing of the Fall Equinox. In 2023, the September full moon will be called the Full Harvest Moon because it was closer to the start of Autumn than October’s.

In other years, the September Full Moon is also called the Full Corn Moon.

Which season includes the September Full Moon?

In 2023, the September Full Moon will be the first full moon of the Autumn 2023 season. It will be the first full moon after the Autumnal Equinox in 2023.

The Autumnal Equinox marks the beginning of astronomical autumn and the end of astronomical summer in the Northern Hemisphere.

In 2023, the Autumnal Equinox will be Saturday September 23, 2023 2:50 AM EDT or 7:50 AM UTC.

Depending on the year, the Full Harvest Moon could occur either at the end of Summer or at the beginning of Autumn depending on how the full moons line up with the Autumnal Equinox.

When is the new moon for the 2023 Full Harvest Moon?

The lunar cycle for the September Full Moon will begin with its new moon in September 2023. The New Harvest Moon will be on Thursday September 14, 2023 9:40 PM EDT or September 15, 2023 2:40 AM UTC and will be the new moon in Virgo.

Two interesting notes about the September New Moon in 2023:

  • This will be one of the few new moon-full moon cycles that will be in the same month.
  • The new moon will be near the end of the summer season. The full moon is at the beginning of autumn.

Future September Full Moons

Wondering when in the future the full moons will occur in September beyond September 2023 full moon? Here’s a list through 2029.

YearDay of the weekFuture September Full Moons
2023FridaySeptember 29, 2023 5:57 AM EDT
2024TuesdaySeptember 17, 2024 10:34 PM EDT
2025SundaySeptember 7, 2025 2:09 PM EDT
2026SaturdaySeptember 26, 2026 12:49 PM EDT
2027WednesdaySeptember 15, 2027 7:04 PM EDT
2028SundaySeptember 3, 2028 7:48 PM EDT
2029SaturdaySeptember 22, 2029 12:29 PM EDT

Past September Full Moons

And what about the past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past for September.

YearDay of the weekPast September Full Moons
2022SaturdaySeptember 10, 2022 5:59 AM EDT
2021MondaySeptember 20, 2021 7:55 PM EDT
2020WednesdaySeptember 2, 2020 1:22 AM EDT
2019SaturdaySeptember 14, 2019 12:33 AM EDT
2018MondaySeptember 24, 2018 10:53 PM EDT
2017WednesdaySeptember 6, 2017 3:03 AM EDT

Frequently Asked Questions

Have additional questions about the September Full Moons? Here are a few of the frequently asked questions to help you.

When was the September 2022 full moon?

The September 2022 Full Moon was on Saturday September 10, 2022 5:59 AM EDT or 10:59 AM UTC. This was the last full moon of the Summer 2022 season as the September 2022 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox.

When was the September 2021 full moon?

The September 2021 Full Moon was on Monday September 20, 2021 7:55 PM EDT or September 21, 2021 12:55 AM UTC. This was the last full moon of the Summer 2021 season as the September 2021 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox.

When was the September 2020 full moon?

The September 2020 Full Moon was on Wednesday September 2, 2020 1:22 AM EDT or 6:22 AM UTC. This was the last full moon of the Summer 2020 season as the September 2020 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these future full moon calendars.

Pin for later

Photo of the moon for the September 2023 Full Moon, the Full Harvest Moon