Home » Full Moon Calendar 2024 » October 2024 Full Moon, the Full Hunter’s Moon

October 2024 Full Moon, the Full Hunter’s Moon

Mark your calendars for the October 2024 Full Moon. The October full moon in 2024 will be on Thursday October 17, 2024 7:26 AM EDT or 11:26 AM UTC based on the data provided by NASA. It will be the tenth full moon on the 2024 Full Moon calendar.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the October 2024 Full Moon? Learn more about the moon’s nicknames and other facts.

Photo of the moon for the date of the the Full Hunter's Moon 2024, the October 2024 Full Moon

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time are for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. Since you may be in a different time zone, the exact dates may shift for your calendar.

What is the name of the October 2024 Full Moon?

One name for the October 2024 Full Moon is the Full Hunter’s Moon. This nickname is inspired by Native Americans and their activities for getting ready for the winter. They would start gathering provisions to get them through the winter.

In some years, the October full moon’s name switches to the Full Harvest Moon if it occurs closer to the Fall Equinox and the September full moon.

Another nickname for October’s full moon includes the Blood Moon.

Learn more about the Full Moons in 2024

Which season includes the October Full Moon?

In 2024, the October Full Moon will be the first full moon of the Autumn 2024 season. It will be the first full moon after the 2024 Autumnal Equinox.

The Autumnal Equinox marks the beginning of astronomical autumn and the end of astronomical summer in the Northern Hemisphere.

In 2024, the Autumnal Equinox will be Sunday September 22, 2024 8:44 AM EDT or 12:44 PM UTC.

Depending on the year, the Full Hunter’s Moon could occur either be the first or second Full Moon of Autumn, depending on if the September Full Moon happens before or after the Autumnal Equinox. For 2024 the October Full Moon will be the first Autumn Full Moon.

When is the new moon for the 2024 Full Hunter’s Moon?

The lunar cycle for the October Full Moon will begin with its new moon in October 2024. The New Hunter’s Moon will be on Wednesday October 2, 2024 2:49 PM EDT or 6:49 PM UTC and will be the new moon in Libra.

For 2024, the new and full moon Hunter’s Moon will be in the same month and same season.

Future October Full Moons

Wondering when in the future the full moons will occur in October beyond October 2024 full moon? Here’s a list through 2029.

YearDay of the weekFuture October Full Moons
2023SaturdayOctober 28, 2023 4:24 PM EDT
2024ThursdayOctober 17, 2024 7:26 AM EDT
2025MondayOctober 6, 2025 11:48 PM EDT
2026SundayOctober 25, 2026 11:12 PM EDT
2027FridayOctober 15, 2027 9:47 AM EDT
2028TuesdayOctober 3, 2028 12:25 PM EDT
2029MondayOctober 22, 2029 5:28 AM EDT

Past October Full Moons

And what about the past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past for October.

YearDay of the weekPast October Full Moons
2022SundayOctober 9, 2022 4:55 PM EDT
2021WednesdayOctober 20, 2021 10:57 AM EDT
2020SaturdayOctober 31, 2020 9:49 AM EDT (Blue Moon)
2020ThursdayOctober 1, 2020 5:05 PM EDT
2019SundayOctober 13, 2019 5:08 PM EDT
2018WednesdayOctober 24, 2018 12:45 PM EDT
2017ThursdayOctober 5, 2017 2:40 PM EDT

Frequently Asked Questions

Have additional questions about the October Full Moons? Here are a few of the frequently asked questions to help you.

When was the October 2022 full moon?

The October 2022 Full Moon was on Sunday October 9, 2022 4:55 PM EDT or 8:55 PM UTC. This was the first full moon of the Autumn 2022 season as the September 2022 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox.

When was the October 2021 full moon?

The October 2021 Full Moon was on Wednesday October 20, 2021 10:57 AM EDT or 2:57 PM UTC. This was the first full moon of the Fall 2021 season as the September 2021 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox.

When was the October 2020 full moon?

There were two full moons in October 2020. The first was on Thursday October 1, 2020 5:05 PM EDT or 9:05 PM UTC as the first full moon of the Autumn 2020 season. A second full moon was on Halloween on Saturday October 31, 2020 9:49 AM EDT or 1:49 PM UTC.

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these future full moon calendars.

Photo of the moon for the October 2024 Full Moon, the Full Hunter's Moon