Home » Full Moon Dates » Full Moon November 2024: The Full Beaver Moon

Full Moon November 2024: The Full Beaver Moon

Mark your calendars for the November 2024 Full Moon. The November full moon in 2024 will be on Friday November 15, 2024 4:29 PM EST or 9:29 PM UTC based on the data provided by NASA. It will be the eleventh full moon on the calendar for 2024.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the November 2024 Full Moon? Learn more about the moon’s nicknames and other facts.

Photo of the moon for the Full Moon November 2024 date, the Full Beaver Moon

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time are for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. Since you may be in a different time zone, the exact dates may shift for your calendar.

What is the name of the November 2024 Full Moon?

One name for the November 2024 Full Moon is the Full Beaver Moon. It’s not likely a name you would have immediately guessed. The Full Beaver Moon is inspired by nature as this nickname comes from the time when Native Americans and early settlers would set traps to catch beavers to have warm furs for the winter.

Another nickname for the November full moon is the Frosty Moon.

Which season includes the November Full Moon?

In 2024, the November Full Moon will be the second full moon of the Autumn 2024 season. It will be the second full moon after the 2024 Autumnal Equinox.

The Autumnal Equinox marks the beginning of astronomical autumn and the end of astronomical summer in the Northern Hemisphere.

In 2024, the Autumnal Equinox will be on Sunday September 22, 2024 8:44 AM EDT or 1:44 PM UTC.

Depending on the year, the Full Beaver Moon could occur either be the second or third Full Moon of Autumn, depending on if the September Full Moon happens before or after the Autumnal Equinox. For 2024 the November Full Moon will be the second Autumn Full Moon.

When is the new moon for the 2024 Full Beaver Moon?

The lunar cycle for the November Full Moon will begin with its new moon in November 2024. The New Beaver Moon will be on Friday November 1, 2024 8:47 AM EDT or 12:47 PM UTC and will be in the new moon in Scorpio.

In 2024 the new moon-full moon cycle for the Beaver moon will be in the same month. Depending on how the calendar aligns each year, the new-full moon cycle may be in different months.

Future November Full Moons

Wondering when in the future the full moons will occur in November beyond the next November full moon? Here’s a list through 2029.

YearDay of the weekFuture November Full Moons
2023MondayNovember 27, 2023 4:16 AM EST
2024FridayNovember 15, 2024 4:29 PM EST
2025WednesdayNovember 5, 2025 8:19 AM EST
2026TuesdayNovember 24, 2026 9:53 AM EST
2027SaturdayNovember 13, 2027 10:26 PM EST
2028ThursdayNovember 2, 2028 4:17 AM EDT
2029TuesdayNovember 20, 2029 11:03 PM EST

Past November Full Moons

And what about the past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past for November.

YearDay of the weekPast November Full Moons
2022TuesdayNovember 8, 2022 6:02 AM EST
2021FridayNovember 19, 2021 3:58 AM EST
2020MondayNovember 30, 2020 4:30 AM EST
2019TuesdayNovember 12, 2019 8:34 AM EST
2018FridayNovember 23, 2018 12:39 AM EST
2017SaturdayNovember 4, 2017 12:23 AM EDT

Frequently Asked Questions

Have additional questions about the November Full Moons? Here are a few of the frequently asked questions to help you.

When was the November 2022 full moon?

The November 2022 Full Moon was on Tuesday November 8, 2022 6:02 AM EST or 11:02 AM UTC. This was the second full moon of the Autumn 2022 season as the September 2022 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox.

When was the November 2021 full moon?

The November 2021 Full Moon was on Friday November 19, 2021 3:58 AM EST or 8:58 AM UTC. This was the second full moon of the Fall 2021 season as the September 2021 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox.

When was the November 2020 full moon?

The November 2020 Full Moon was on Monday November 30, 2020 4:30 AM EST or 9:30 AM UTC. It was the third full moon of the Autumn 2020 season because the September 2020 full moon occurred before the Autumnal Equinox in 2020.

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these additional full moon calendars.

Photo of the moon for the November 2024 Full Moon, the Full Beaver Moon