Full Moon June 2024, The Full Strawberry Moon

Mark your calendars for the June 2024 Full Moon. The June full moon in 2024 will be on Friday June 21, 2024 9:08 PM EDT or June 22, 2024 2:08 AM UTC based on the data provided by NASA. It will be the sixth 2024 full moon on the calendar during the year.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the June 2024 Full Moon? Learn more about the moon’s nicknames and other facts.

Photo of the moon for the Full Moon June 2024 date, the Full Strawberry Moon

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

What is the name of the June 2024 Full Moon?

One name for the June 2024 Full Moon is the Full Strawberry Moon. It’s a name you could have guessed if you like to pick strawberries in June. The Full Strawberry Moon fits nicely as summer approaches, and it’s time to enjoy this fruit.

Other nicknames for the June Full Moon include: Rose Moon, Mead Moon, and Honey Moon.

Which season includes the June Full Moon?

In 2024, the June Full Moon will be the first full moon of the Summer 2024 season. It will be the first full moon after the 2024 Summer Solistice by about a day.

The Summer Solstice marks the beginning of astronomical summer and the end of astronomical spring in the Northern Hemisphere.

In 2024, the Summer Solstice will be Thursday June 20 , 2024 4:51 PM EDT or 9:51 PM UTC.

Depending on the year, the Full Strawberry Moon could occur either as the last Spring Fully Moon or the first Full Moon of Summer, depending on if it happens before or after the Summer Solstice. In 2024 the June 21st full moon will be the first Summer Full Moon.

When is the new moon for the 2024 Full Strawberry Moon?

The lunar cycle for the June Full Moon will begin with its new moon in June 2024. The New Strawberry Moon will be on Thursday June 6, 2024 8:38 AM EDT or 1:38 PM UTC and will be in the new moon in Gemini.

In 2024 the New and Full Strawberry Moons will occur in different seasons. The New Strawberry Moon will be the last new moon of Spring 2024. The Full Moon will be the first Summer Full Moon.

Also depending on how the lunar cycle lines up with the calendar each year, the new and full moon may occur in different months. For 2024 they will both be in the same month.

Future June Full Moons

Wondering about June in the future and when the full moons will occur? Here’s a list for the next few years.

YearDay of the weekFuture June Full Moons
2023SaturdayJune 3, 2023 11:42 PM EDT
2024FridayJune 21, 2024 9:08 PM EDT
2025WednesdayJune 11, 2025 3:44 AM EDT
2026MondayJune 29, 2026 7:57 PM EDT
2027FridayJune 18, 2027 8:44 PM EDT
2028WednesdayJune 7, 2028 2:09 AM EDT
2029MondayJune 25, 2029 11:22 PM EDT

Past June Full Moons

And what about the past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past for June.

YearDay of the weekPast June Full Moons
2022TuesdayJune 14, 2022 7:52 AM EDT
2021ThursdayJune 24, 2021 2:40 PM EDT
2020FridayJune 5, 2020 3:12 PM EDT
2019MondayJune 17, 2019 4:31 AM EDT
2018ThursdayJune 28, 2018 12:53 AM EDT
2017FridayJune 9, 2017 9:10 AM EDT

Frequently Asked Questions

Have additional questions about the June Full Moons? Here are a few of the frequently asked questions to help you.

When was the June 2022 full moon?

The June 2022 Full Moon was on Tuesday June 14, 2022 7:52 AM EDT or 12:52 PM UTC. This was the third and last full moon of the Spring 2022 season as the March 2022 full moon occurred before the Spring Equinox.

When was the June 2021 full moon?

The June 2021 Full Moon was on Thursday June 24, 2021 2:40 PM EDT or 7:40 PM UTC. This was the first full moon of the Summer 2021 season as the June 2021 full moon occurred after the Summer Solistice.

When was the June 2020 full moon?

The June 2020 Full Moon was on Friday June 5, 2020 3:12 PM EDT or 8:12 PM UTC. It was the third and last full moon of the Spring 2020 season because the March 2020 full moon occurred before the Vernal Equinox in 2020.

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these future full moon calendars.

Photo of the moon for the June 2024 Full Moon, the Full Strawberry Moon