Full Moon July 2023: The Full Buck Moon

Mark your calendars for the next July 2023 Full Moon. The next July full moon is Monday July 3, 2023 7:39 AM EDT or 12:39 PM UTC based on the data provided by NASA. It will be the seventh full moon on the schedule for 2023.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the July 2023 Full Moon? Learn more about the moon’s nicknames and other facts.

Photo of the moon for the Full Moon July 2023 date, the Full Buck Moon

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

What is the name of the July 2023 Full Moon?

One name for the July 2023 Full Moon is the Full Buck Moon. It’s not likely a name you would have immediately guessed. The Full Buck Moon takes its name from the time of year when antlers start to appear on male deer (bucks).

Other nicknames for July’s Full Moon include the Thunder Moon and Hay Moon.

Which season includes the July Full Moon?

In 2023, the July Full Moon will be the first full moon of the Summer 2023 season. It will be the first full moon after the Summer Solistice in 2023.

The Summer Solstice marks the beginning of astronomical summer and the end of astronomical spring in the Northern Hemisphere.

In 2023, the Summer Solstice will be Wednesday June 21, 2023 10:58 AM EDT or 3:58 PM UTC.

Depending on the year, the Full Buck Moon could occur either be the first or second Full Moon of Summer, depending on if the June Full Moon happens before or after the Summer Solstice.

When is the new moon for the 2023 Full Buck Moon?

The lunar cycle for the July Full Moon will begin with its new moon in June 2023. The New Buck Moon will be on Sunday June 18, 2023 12:37 AM EDT or 5:37 AM UTC and will be in the new moon in Taurus.

Also interesting to note, the new and full moons will occur in different seasons. The New Buck Moon will be part of Spring 2023 and the full moon is part of the summer season.

The new moon that will occur in July 2023 will be the start of the lunar cycle of the August full moon.

Future July Full Moons

Wondering when in the future the full moons will occur in July beyond July 2023 full moon? Here’s a list through 2029.

YearDay of the weekFuture July Full Moons
2023MondayJuly 3, 2023 7:39 AM EDT
2024SundayJuly 21, 2024 6:17 AM EDT
2025ThursdayJuly 10, 2025 4:37 PM EDT
2026WednesdayJuly 29, 2026 10:36 AM EDT
2027SundayJuly 18, 2027 11:45 AM EDT
2028ThursdayJuly 6, 2028 2:11 PM EDT
2029WednesdayJuly 25, 2029 9:36 AM EDT

Past July Full Moons

And what about in past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past Julys.

YearDay of the weekPast July Full Moons
2022WednesdayJuly 13, 2022 2:37 PM EDT
2021FridayJuly 23, 2021 10:37 PM EDT
2020SundayJuly 5, 2020 12:44 AM EDT
2019TuesdayJuly 16, 2019 5:38 PM EDT
2018FridayJuly 27, 2018 4:21 PM EDT
2017SundayJuly 9, 2017 12:07 AM EDT

Frequently Asked Questions

Have additional questions about the July Full Moons? Here are a few of the frequently asked questions to help you.

When was the July 2022 full moon?

The July 2022 Full Moon was on Wednesday July 13, 2022 2:37 PM EDT or 7:37 PM UTC. This was the first full moon of the Summer 2022 season as the June 2022 full moon occurred before the Summer Solstice.

When was the July 2021 full moon?

The July 2021 Full Moon was on Friday July 23, 2021 10:37 PM EDT or July 24, 2021 3:37 AM UTC. This was the second full moon of the Summer 2021 season as the June 2021 full moon occurred after the Summer Solstice.

When was the July 2020 full moon?

The July 2020 Full Moon was on Sunday July 5, 2020 12:44 AM EDT or 5:44 AM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Summer 2020 season because the June 2020 full moon occurred before the Summer Solstice in 2020.

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these additional full moon calendars.

Pin for later

Photo of the moon for the July 2023 Full Moon, the Full Buck Moon