Full Moon February Calendar for 2022, Full Snow Moon

Mark your calendars for the next Full Snow Moon 2022! The next February full moon is Wednesday February 16, 2022 11:57 EST based on the data provided by NASA.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Since February has 28 days and 29 days in a leap year, it’s not possible for February to have a blue moon. And on occasion, it doesn’t have a full moon at all, called a black moon. This happens when there are blue moons in both January and March.

Learn more about the past and future February Full Moons below.

February Full Moon, Full Snow Moon 2022

Names for the February Full Moon 

The February full moon is commonly referred to as the Full Snow Moon, named for the usually frequent snow.

Future February Full Moons

Wondering about February in the future and when the full snow moons will occur? Here’s a list for the next few years.

YearDay of the weekFuture February Full Moons
2022WednesdayFebruary 16, 2022 11:57 EST
2023SundayFebruary 5, 2023 13:29 EST
2024SaturdayFebruary 24, 2024 07:30 EST

February 16, 2022

The February 2022 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, will be on Wednesday February 16, 2022 11:57 EST or 16:57 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Winter 2021-2022 season.

February 5, 2023

The February 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, will be on Sunday February 5, 2023 13:29 EST or 18:29 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Winter 2022-2023 season.

February 24, 2024

The February 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, will be on Saturday February 24, 2024 07:30 EST or 12:30 UTC. This will be the third full moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season.

Past February Full Moons

And what about the in past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past for February.

In 2018, there was not a full moon because there were blue moon months in January 2018 and March 2018. This referred to as a Black Moon.

YearDay of the weekPast February Full Moons
2021SaturdayFebruary 27, 2021 03:17 EST
2020SundayFebruary 9, 2020 02:33 EST
2019TuesdayFebruary 19, 2019 10:53 EST
2018NONE! A Black Moon
2017FridayFebruary 10, 2017 19:33 EST

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these future full moon calendars.