Full Moon February 2023: The Full Snow Moon

Mark your calendars for the next February 2023 Full Moon! The next February full moon is Sunday February 5, 2023 1:29 PM EST or 6:29 PM UTC based on the data provided by NASA. It will be the second full moon on the 2023 full moon schedule.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Since February has 28 days and 29 days in a leap year, it’s not possible for February to have a blue moon. And on occasion, it doesn’t have a full moon at all, called a black moon. This happens when there are blue moons in both January and March.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the February 2023 Full Moon? Learn more about the moon’s nicknames and other facts about it.

Photo of the moon for the Full Moon February 2023 date, the Full Snow Moon

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

What is the name of the February 2023 Full Moon?

The February full moon is commonly referred to as the Full Snow Moon, named for the usually frequent snow that occurs at that time of the year. It’s a fitting name for a moon that’s part of the Winter season.

Other nicknames for the February full moon include the Hunger Moon, Chaste Moon, and Storm Moon. The February Full Moon Name is also an alternate nickname for the January 2023 Full Moon is also the Full Snow Moon. Sometimes the names overlap depending on the source.

Which season includes the February Full Moon?

In 2023, the February Full Moon will be the second full moon of the winter 2022-2023 season. It will be the second full moon after the Winter Solstice in 2022.

The Winter Solstice marks the first day of winter and is the shortest day of the year when the Earth is tilted as far away from the sun as it will be all year.

In 2022, the Winter Solstice will be Wednesday December 21, 2022 4:48 PM ET or 9:48 PM UTC.

When is the new moon for the 2023 Full Snow Moon?

The lunar cycle for the February Full Moon will begin with its new moon in January 2023. The New Cold Moon will be on Saturday January 21, 2023 3:53 PM EST or 8:53 PM UTC and will be in the new moon in Aquarius. It will also be a supermoon.

The new moon that will occur in February 2023 will be the start of the lunar cycle of the March full moon.

Future February Full Moons

Wondering about February in the future and when the full snow moons will occur? Here’s a list for the next few years.

YearDay of the weekFuture February Full Moons
2023SundayFebruary 5, 2023 1:29 PM EST
2024SaturdayFebruary 24, 2024 7:30 AM EST
2025WednesdayFebruary 12, 2025 8:53 AM EST
2026SundayFebruary 1, 2026 5:09 PM EST
2027SaturdayFebruary 20, 2027 6:23 PM EST
2028ThursdayFebruary 10, 2028 10:04 AM EST
2029WednesdayFebruary 28, 2029 12:10 PM ET

Past February Full Moons

And what about the past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past for February.

In 2018, there was not a full moon because there were blue moon months in January 2018 and March 2018. This is referred to as a Black Moon.

YearDay of the weekPast February Full Moons
2022WednesdayFebruary 16, 2022 11:57 AM EST
2021SaturdayFebruary 27, 2021 3:17 AM EST
2020SundayFebruary 9, 2020 2:33 AM EST
2019TuesdayFebruary 19, 2019 10:53 AM EST
2018NONE! A Black Moon
2017FridayFebruary 10, 2017 7:33 PM EST

Frequently Asked Questions

Have additional questions about the February Full Moons? Here are a few of the frequently asked questions to help you.

When was the February 2022 full moon?

The February 2022 Full Moon was on Wednesday February 16, 2022 11:57 AM EST or 4:57 PM UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Winter 2021-2022 season as the December 2021 full moon occurred before the Winter Solstice the previous month.

When was the February 2021 full moon?

The February 2021 Full Moon was on Saturday February 27, 2021 3:17 AM EST or 8:17 AM UTC. This will be the third full moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season as the December 2020 full moon occurred after the Winter Solstice the previous month.

When was the February 2020 full moon?

The February 2020 Full Moon was on Sunday February 9, 2020 2:33 AM EST or 7:33 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season because the December 2019 full moon occurred before the Winter Solstice in 2019.

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these future full moon calendars.

Pin for later

Photo of the moon for the February 2023 Full Moon, the Full Snow Moon