August Full Moon 2021 Calendar, The Sturgeon Moon

Mark your calendars for 2021! The next August full moon is Sunday, August 22, 2021 08:02 EST or 13:02 UTC based on the data provided by NASA.

The last August Full Moon was on August 3, 2020, 11:59 EST.

August 2021 Full Moon, Full Sturgeon Moon

Names for the August Full Moon 

The August full moon is commonly referred to as the Sturgeon Moon. As with other full moon names, it’s inspired by nature and refers to the high numbers of sturgeon caught in high numbers in North America’s Great Lakes.

Other names for this full moon also include: Barley Moon, Corn Moon, Dog Moon, Fruit Moon Grain Moon, Green Corn Moon, Herb Moon, Red Moon, and Wyrt Moon.

Future August Full Moons

Over the next 5 years, there will be 6 full moons because August 2023 will have a blue moon. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times are provided by NASA in Eastern Standard Time (EST) with Daylight Saving Time (DST) for part of the year. Also below is the Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) time. This was previously referred to at Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

Starting with 2021, here are the dates of the next 6 August Full Moons:

August 22, 2021

The August 2021 Full Moon will be on Sunday August 22, 2021 08:02 EST or 13:02 UTC. This will be the third full moon of the Summer 2021 season. It will also be considered a seasonal blue moon because it’s the third full moon in a season with 4 full moons

August 11, 2022

The August 2022 Full Moon will be on Thursday August 11, 2022 21:36 ET or August 12, 2022 02:36 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Summer 2022 season.

August 1, 2023

The first August 2023 Full Moon will be on Tuesday August 1, 2023 14:31 EST or 19:31 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Summer 2023 season.

August 30, 2023 (Full Blue Moon)

There will be a second full moon as a blue moon in August 2023 on Wednesday August 30, 2023 21:35 or August 31, 2023 02:35 UTC. This will be the third and last full moon of the Summer 2023 season.

August 19, 2024

The August 2024 Full Moon will be on Monday August 19, 2024  14:26 EST or 19:26 UTC. This will be the third full moon of the Summer 2024 season.

August 9, 2025 03:55 EST

The August 2025 Full Moon will be on Saturday August 9, 2025 03:55 EST or 08:55 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Summer 2025 season.

Past August Full Moons

And what about in the past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past for August.

August 3, 2020

The August 2020 Full Moon was on Monday, August 3, 2020 11:59 EST or 16:59 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 2020 season.

August 15, 2019

The August 2019 Full Moon was on Thursday, August 15, 2019 8:29 EST or 13:29 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 2019 season.

August 26, 2018

The August 2018 Full Moon was on Sunday, August 26, 2018 07:56 EST or 12:56 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 2018 season.

August 7, 2017

The August 2017 Full Moon was on Monday, August 7, 2017 14:11 EST or 19:11 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 2017 season.

August 18, 2016

The August 2016 Full Moon was on Thursday, August 18, 2016 05:27 EST or 10:27 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Summer 2016 season.

August 29, 2015

The August 2015 Full Moon was on Saturday, August 29, 2015 14:35 EST or 19:35 UTC. This was the third full moon of the Summer 2015 season. This full moon was later in the month because July had a blue moon at the very end of the month.

August Blue Moons

The next August Blue Moon won’t be until the August 2023 full moon as there will be two full moons that month.

A blue moon is when 2 full moons in the same calendar month. Months with 31 days, such as August make it easier to have a blue moon because a full moon occurs about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

The seasonal blue moon is a second definition for blue moons in which 4 full moons occur in a season. The third full moon of the season is called the seasonal blue moon in the seasons which have 4 full moons. The August full moon will always be either the second or third full moon of the summer season so it’s possible to be a seasonal blue moon.

The next August Seasonal Blue Moon will be in August 2021 full moon as there will be 4 full moons during the 2021 Summer Season.

It’s also possible depending on the time zone that the blue moon month could shift. For the purpose of this website, the blue moons will be defined based on Eastern (United States) time.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the August Full Moon Calendar to help you prepare for the years ahead.

Was there a full moon in August 2020?

The August 2020 Full Moon was on Monday, August 3, 2020 11:59 EST or 16:59 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 2020 season.

How many full moons are there in August 2020?

There was 1 full moon in August 2020. It was on Monday, August 3, 2020 11:59 EST or 16:59 UTC and was the second full moon of the Summer 2020 season.

Is there a blue moon in August 2021?

There will be a seasonal blue moon in August 2021 as it will be the third full moon of a Summer 2021 season with four moons. The seasonal blue moon will be on Sunday, August 22, 2021 08:02 EST or 13:02 UTC.

What is August full moon called?

The most common name for the August Full Moon is the Sturgeon Moon. As with other full moon names, it’s inspired by nature and refers to the high numbers of sturgeon caught in high numbers in North America’s Great Lakes.

Additional names for this month’s full moon include: Barley Moon, Corn Moon, Dog Moon, Fruit Moon Grain Moon, Green Corn Moon, Herb Moon, Red Moon, and Wyrt Moon.

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these future full moon calendars.

August Full Moons: the Sturgeon Moon. Past and Present