Home » Full Moon Calendar 2024 » April 2024 Full Moon, the Pink Full Moon

April 2024 Full Moon, the Pink Full Moon

Mark your calendars for the next April 2024 Full Moon. The April full moon is Tuesday April 23, 2024 7:49 PM EDT or 11:49 PM UTC based on the data provided by NASA. It will be the fourth full moon in 2024.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is between the Sun and the Moon, so the moon looks completely illuminated. It happens about once a month or 29.53 days on average.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the April 2024 Full Moon? Learn more about the moon’s nicknames and other facts

Photo of the moon for the date of the the Full Pink Moon 2024, the April 2024 Full Moon

The dates and times provided by NASA in the United States Eastern Time are for Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. Since you may be in a different time zone, the exact dates may shift for your calendar.

What is the name of the April 2024 Full Moon?

The April full moon is commonly referred to as the Full Pink Moon. The name comes from a pink herb moss that would flower that was widespread at that time of year.

As with the moons in other months, there are additional nicknames for April’s full moon. They include:

  • Egg Moon,
  • Full Sprouting Grass Moon,
  • Full Fish Moon (generally among the coastal indigenous tribes)

They all have a common tie to the spring season as new flowers start to bloom and the fish begin to spawn.

Learn more about the Full Moons in 2024

Which season includes the April Full Moon?

In 2024, the April Full Moon will be the second full moon of the Spring 2024 season. It will be the second full moon after the 2024 Vernal Equinox.

The Vernal or Spring equinox marks the beginning of astronomical spring and the end of astronomical winter in the Northern Hemisphere.

In 2024, the Vernal Equinox will be Tuesday March 19, 2024 11:07 PM EDT or March 20, 2024 3:07 AM UTC.

Depending on the year, the April full moon will either be the first or second full moon of Spring. In 2024 it will be the second full moon of the season.

When is the new moon for the 2024 Full Pink Moon?

The lunar cycle for the April Full Moon will begin with its new moon in April 2024. The New Pink Moon will be on Monday April 8, 2024 2:21 PM EDT or 6:21 PM UTC and will be in the new moon in Aries. The April 8th New Moon will also be a new supermoon in 2024.

Future April Full Moons

Wondering about April in the future and when the full moons will occur? Here’s a list for the next few years.

YearDay of the weekFuture April Full Moons
2023ThursdayApril 6, 2023 12:34 AM EDT
2024TuesdayApril 23, 2024 7:49 PM EDT
2025SaturdayApril 12, 2025 8:22 PM EDT
2026WednesdayApril 1, 2026 10:12 PM EDT
2027TuesdayApril 20, 2027 6:27 PM EDT
2028SundayApril 9, 2028 6:27 AM EDT
2029SaturdayApril 28, 2029 6:37 AM EDT

Past Full Moons in April

And what about the past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past for April.

YearDay of the weekPast April Full Moons
2022SaturdayApril 16, 2022 2:55 PM EDT
2021MondayApril 26, 2021 11:31 PM EDT
2020TuesdayApril 7, 2020 10:35 PM EDT
2019FridayApril 19, 2019 7:12 AM EDT
2018SundayApril 29, 2018 8:58 PM EDT
2017TuesdayApril 11, 2017 2:08 AM EDT

Frequently Asked Questions

Have additional questions about the April Full Moons? Here are a few of the frequently asked questions to help you.

When was the April 2022 full moon?

The April 2022 Full Moon was on Saturday April 16, 2022 2:55 PM EDT or 6:55 PM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Spring 2022 season as the March 2022 full moon occurred before the Spring Equinox the previous month.

When was the April 2021 full moon?

The April 2021 Full Moon was on Monday April 26, 2021 11:31 PM EDT or April 27, 2021 3:31 AM UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Spring 2021 season as the March 2021 full moon occurred after the Spring Equinox the previous month.

When was the April 2020 full moon?

The April 2020 Full Moon was on Tuesday April 7, 2020 10:35 PM EDT or April 8, 2020 2:35 AM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Spring 2020 season because the March 2020 full moon occurred before the Vernal Equinox in 2020.

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, or the full year calendars in the future, here’s the next few years for you.

Pin for later

Photo of the moon for the April 2024 Full Moon, the Full Pink Moon