Full Moon April 2023:The Pink Full Moon

Mark your calendars for the next April 2023 Full Moon. The next April full moon is Thursday April 6, 2023 12:34 AM EDT or 5:34 AM UTC based on the data provided by NASA. It will be the fourth full moon in 2023.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the April 2023 Full Moon? Learn more about the moon’s nicknames and other facts

Photo of the moon for the Full Moon April 2023 date, the Full Pink Moon

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

What is the name of the April 2023 Full Moon?

The April full moon is commonly referred to as the Pink Moon. The name comes from a pink herb moss that would flower that was widespread at that time of year.

As with the moons in other months, there are additional nicknames for April’s full moon. They include:

  • Egg Moon,
  • Full Sprouting Grass Moon,
  • Full Fish Moon (generally among the coastal indigenous tribes)

They all have a common tie to the spring season as new flowers start to bloom and the fish begin to spawn.

Which season includes the April Full Moon?

In 2023, the April Full Moon will be the first full moon of the Spring 2023 season. It will be the first full moon after the Vernal Equinox in 2023.

The Vernal or Spring equinox marks the beginning of astronomical spring and the end of astronomical winter in the Northern Hemisphere.

In 2023, the Vernal Equinox will be Monday March 20, 2023 5:25 PM EDT or 10:25 PM UTC.

When is the new moon for the 2023 Full Pink Moon?

The lunar cycle for the April Full Moon will begin with its new moon in March 2023. The New Pink Moon will be on Tuesday March 21, 2023 1:23 PM EDT or 6:23 PM UTC and will be in the new moon in Aries.

The new moon that will occur in April 2023 will be the start of the lunar cycle of the May full moon.

Future April Full Moons

Wondering about April in the future and when the full moons will occur? Here’s a list for the next few years.

YearDay of the weekFuture April Full Moons
2023ThursdayApril 6, 2023 12:34 AM EDT
2024TuesdayApril 23, 2024 7:49 PM EDT
2025SaturdayApril 12, 2025 8:22 PM EDT
2026WednesdayApril 1, 2026 10:12 PM EDT
2027TuesdayApril 20, 2027 6:27 PM EDT
2028SundayApril 9, 2028 6:27 AM EDT
2029SaturdayApril 28, 2029 6:37 AM EDT

Past Full Moons in April

And what about the past? Here is when the full moon occurred in the past for April.

YearDay of the weekPast April Full Moons
2022SaturdayApril 16, 2022 2:55 PM EDT
2021MondayApril 26, 2021 11:31 PM EDT
2020TuesdayApril 7, 2020 10:35 PM EDT
2019FridayApril 19, 2019 7:12 AM EDT
2018SundayApril 29, 2018 8:58 PM EDT
2017TuesdayApril 11, 2017 2:08 AM EDT

Frequently Asked Questions

Have additional questions about the April Full Moons? Here are a few of the frequently asked questions to help you.

When was the April 2022 full moon?

The April 2022 Full Moon was on Saturday April 16, 2022 2:55 PM EDT or 7:55 PM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Spring 2022 season as the March 2022 full moon occurred before the Spring Equinox the previous month.

When was the April 2021 full moon?

The April 2021 Full Moon was on Monday April 26, 2021 11:31 PM EDT or April 27, 2021 4:31 AM UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Spring 2021 season as the March 2021 full moon occurred after the Spring Equinox the previous month.

When was the April 2020 full moon?

The April 2020 Full Moon was on Tuesday April 7, 2020 10:35 PM EDT or April 8, 2020 3:35 AM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Spring 2020 season because the March 2020 full moon occurred before the Vernal Equinox in 2020.

Future Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, or the full year calendars in the future, here’s the next few years for you.

Pin for later

Photo of the moon for the April 2023 Full Moon, the Full Pink Moon